Producer Stix Bones Releases New Single “Be Thankful” feat. Vocalist Khadejia | LISTEN! New EP “Olimpik Soul” Coming Jan. 12th, 2024

The Second Single is From Bones’ Forthcoming EP, Olimpik Soul, Featuring Percussionist and Olympic Gold Medalist Bob Beamon and Abiodun Oyewole of The Last Poets To Be Released on January 12

BROOKLYN, NY – November 24, 2023 – On September 15, the ubiquitous and innovative jazz/hip-hop drummer/producer Stix Bones – who worked with the likes of Yasin Bey (Mo Def), Common, Q-Tip and Doug E. Fresh – released “Leap,” the first single from hits forthcoming EP, Olimpik Soul, which featured percussionist Bob Beamon: the 77 year-old Olympic long jump champion, who in 1968 in Mexico City, leaped to the still-standing Olympic record of 29 ft. 2 ¼ inches.

On November 24, Bones and his group The BONE Squad (an acronym for Brothers of Noble Excellence) drops their second single from the EP, “Be Thankful,” Bone’s vivid version of soul singer William DeVaughan’s million-selling 1974 Soul/R&B hit “Be Thankful For What “You’ve Got,” which includes the memorable lyrics “ “Diamond in the back, sunroof top, diggin’ the scene with a gangsta lean…” and was covered by Curtis Mayfield and many other stars, and featured in films and hip-hop samples.

Bone’s skillful and silken arrangement, backed by Beamon, keyboardist Densen Curwen, bassist Anthony Stevenson, guitarist Steven Brown, and background singer Rufus Moore, “Be Thankful,” retains the original mellow, but percussive, grooving tempo, albeit with a 21th century twist, christened with the airy and angelic voice of lead singer Khadejia, with her feminine grace updating DeVaughan’s original Quiet Storm vocals.

“Being that ‘Be Thankful’ is a 70’s song, and this is 2023, I’m trying to relive a moment…” Bones says. “A moment with family, a moment of childhood and a moment of sports, being that Bob Beamon is on the song [in reference to] the Olympics and what that means to you.”

“Be Thankful” features Beamon, whose first love was music when he grew up in South Jamaica Queens, and was recently coaxed back into it by Beamon’s cousin, bassist Al Brisbane. The EP features the aforementioned musicians on “Be Thankful,” and also includes trumpeter Sean Taylor, saxophonist Melvin Smith and poet/vocalist Abiodun Oyewole of The Last Poets, who grew up with Beamon and worked with Bones early in his career.

Olimpik Soul is Bones’ third in a series of EP’s that deal with jazz, soul and hip-hop beats including Breaks From the Soul, Vol.1 and 2 and Brooklyn Nights. Bones also released 3 albums, Bones Beats, Vol.1, Groove Like This and the Waiting For Mr. Wright Soundtrack.

Born Franklin Brown in Brooklyn, Bones was inspired to play the drums watching live musicians in church and local DJ’s spinning records. He went on to earn a Bachelor’s degree in Jazz Performance at SUNY-Purchase College. He performed with the aforementioned artists previously listed, and worked with Rahzel The Godfather of Noise (The Roots), author/poet Jessica Care Moore, was the music director of The Lyricist Lounge, collaborated with hip-hop artists and was the drummer for the group Soulfege led by Take Back The Mic founder Derrick N. Ashong. The BONE Squad was the house band at the Paradise Theater in the Bronx, where they opened for The O’Jays, Babyface, Charlie Wilson, Cedric The Entertainer, Chaka Khan and many other artists.

Stix Bone’s sees “Be Thankful,” his riveting remake of William DeVaughan’s “Be Thankful For What You’ve Got,” as part of that creative continuum where jazz has always embraced and elevated popular music. “The dynamic is to bring good music to the jazz community as a whole,” Bones states. “We want to continue to give the jazz community quality music, as the forefathers have done in the past.”


Jazz Promo Services

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Soul Singer Willie Clayton Releases Rendition of Classic Hit "Let's Stay Together" | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Jazz Guitarist Tim Bowman Releases New Track "Ocean Breeze" | LISTEN!
Music Group Ghost-Note Releases New Funk Anthem “Where’s Danny?” | LISTEN!
Al Green's Greatest Hits Release Now In Dolby Atmos
Gospel Songstress Lisa Norris-Jackson Releases New Single "God Kept Me" | LISTEN!
Jazz Guitarist Blake Aaron to Release New Album "Love and Rhythm" on April 19th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Violinist Artaska Strings Releases New Album "Dreams" | LISTEN!
Guitarist Joe Taylor Releases New Album "Westside Chill" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer J.Red the Nephew Releases New Single "Should've Been Home" | LISTEN!
Gospel Singer Cory Henry to Release New Project "CHURCH" on February 25th, 2024 | LISTEN to 2 New Si...
Saxophonist Kenny Garrett and Svoy to Release New Album "Who Killed AI?" on April 12th, 2024
R&B/Jazz Guitarist Jimmy B Releases New Track "My Old Street" | LISTEN!
Danish Pianist Rasmus Sørensen Announces Double Album Release: "Balancing Act" & "Traits" on March 1...
Gospel Singer Melvin Crispell, III Releases New Single "He's Never Failed Me Yet" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Trumpeter Lin Rountree Releases New Single "One You" feat. Algebra Blessett | LISTEN!
Gospel Artist Calvin Bridges Releases New Single "No Weapon" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Sax Legend Sonny Rollins - "Freedom Weaver: The 1959 European Tour Recordings" (4-LP Set) to Arrive ...
James Brown’s Unreleased Single "We Got To Change" (3-Track EP) | Coming February 16th, 2024 | LISTE...
Gospel Singer Shonda English Releases New Single "There Wouldn't Be A Me" | LISTEN!
Christian McBride Releases New Single with Edgar Meyer - “Philly Slop” | LISTEN!
Pianist Robert Prester and Singer Adriana Samargia Releases New Album "Quenara" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Saxophonist Melissa Aldana to Release New Project "Echoes Of The Inner Prophet" on April 5th, 2024 |...
R&B Legends Glenn Jones & Eric Nolan Releases New Ballad "I Wanna Be Closer" feat. Saxophonist Tony ...
Soul Singer Alex Harris to Release Debut New Album "Back To Us" on April 12th, 2024 | LISTEN to New ...
The "Bob Marley And The Wailers – One Love: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" is Available NOW | W...
Gospel Singer Me'Kayla Releases New Single "Werking" feat. ChurchPPL | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Singer Ricky Jones Releases New Album "Crazy Sexy" | LISTEN!
Soul Singer Erica Falls to Release Forthcoming Album "Emotions" on March 1st, 2024 | LISTEN to New S...
R&B Singer Eric Roberson Releases New Track "You" | LISTEN! Announces New 30th Anniversary Tour for ...
Legendary Alto Saxophonist Charles McPherson to Release New Album "Reverence" on April 26th, 2024
Ethio-Jazz Vocalist Meklit Releases New Single "Antidote" | LISTEN! New 6-Track EP "Ethio Blue" Comi...
Gospel Singer Brent Jones to Release 4 New Albums in 2024 | LISTEN!
R&B/Soul Singer Darnell Kendricks Releases New Single "What A Wonderful Night" | LISTEN!
Chicago Jazz Drummer Kabir Dalawari to Release New Project "Last Call" on April 5th, 2024
Rising R&B Singer Kimani Jackson Releases New Single "Good Man" | LISTEN! New EP "Icebreaker" is Ava...
Gospel Ensemble Common Hymnal Releases New Single "God of Color" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Up and Coming R&B Songstress Raquel Rodriguez to Release New Single "Good To You" on February 16th, ...
Saxophonist Charles Lloyd Releases New Single "Monk's Dance" | LISTEN!
IIG x Tawatha Agee to Release New Single "Moonlight" on February 9th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Guitarist Ron Bosse to Release New Single "Bossman" feat. Jeff Lorber on February 2nd, 2024 | WATCH ...