Luther Vandross’ Classic Debut Album “Luther” is Reissued & Available NOW | LISTEN!


Originally released on Cotillion Records, Luther is now available
commercially for the first time in over forty years

NEW YORK, April 19, 2024 — Primary Wave Music, in collaboration with Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, proudly announces the re-release of Luther, the debut album from the legendary Luther Vandross. Initially launched by Cotillion Records, this seminal work is now accessible for the first time in over four decades. This historic release is available in multiple formats, including vinyl, CD, and across all digital streaming platforms, ensuring that fans, old and new, can experience the timeless magic of Luther Vandross.

In addition to the remastered music, fans can discover the exclusive new merchandise bundles now available for purchase at the official store –


1. Funky Music (Is A Part Of Me)
2. The 2nd Time Around
3. I’ll Get Along Fine
4. Everybody Rejoice (From the Tony Award Winning Musical, “THE WIZ”)
5. Emotion Eyes
6. This Strange Feeling
7. It’s Good For The Soul (Parts I And II)

Bonus Tracks – CD/Digital Only

8. The 2nd Time Around (Instrumental)

Celebrating Luther Vandross’s profound legacy in R&B and soul, his seminal albums are making a remarkable comeback, four decades later, showcasing his enduring artistry and influence. This re-release aligns with the highly anticipated documentary, “Luther: Never Too Much,” which debuted to critical acclaim at the Sundance Film Festival. This film highlights his legendary status and indelible impact on the music industry.

In June 1976, Luther Vandross made an indelible mark on the R&B scene with the release of his debut album, Luther. This album not only showcased his exceptional vocal prowess, songwriting, and production abilities but also featured the hit “Funky Music (Is A Part Of Me).” This track was later transformed by Vandross and David Bowie into “Fascination” for Bowie’s legendary album Young Americans, highlighting Vandross’s significant contributions through his background vocals and arrangements. The album also featured “Everybody Rejoice (A Brand New Day)” from the acclaimed musical “The Wiz,” which remains the sole recorded version of Vandross performing the song.

For more information about Luther Vandross and this release, visit

Luther Vandross was more than just a great singer. An elegant and warmhearted New Yorker who became one of popular music’s most beloved performers, from his solo breakthrough in the early ‘80s to his untimely death in 2005, Vandross was a vocalist whose understanding of singing as an art form was so profound, he changed notions of what it could be. That’s just what he did in balancing the innovation of 1980’s R&B in the irresistibly joyful title track of Vandross’ 1981 solo debut, Never Too Much, to his astonishing 1981 cover of A House Is Not a Home, transforming the Burt Bacharach/Hal David classic into an acutely personal demonstration of his control, dexterity, and expressiveness. In the process, he transcends the ‘60s divas who inspired him—Dionne Warwick, Diana Ross, Aretha Franklin—to create a model for those who followed. Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, and Celine Dion have all acknowledged the impact that their sometime duet partner had on them. Luther’s success in the 1980s launched him after many years of working behind the scenes as a session vocalist and arranger for acts like David Bowie and Bette Midler and as the singer of Searching and The Glow of Love, two classy hits for the Italian/American disco group Change. In the decades that followed, Vandross continued to find ways to push the art forward instead of relying on the tried and true, releasing 11 consecutive platinum albums in the process and garnering 31 Grammy nominations and 8 Grammy awards. Grammy winners like 1991’s Power of Love/Love Power and 2003’s Dance With My Father remain as technically accomplished as they are emotionally moving, serving as testaments to his enduring legacy. For more info visit

Strategic Heights Media

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Lalah Hathaway Releases New Single "I Am" | LISTEN! New Album "VANTABLACK" Drops June 14th, 2024
Legendary Singer Freda Payne Releases New Single "Just To Be With You" (Golden Promises Mix) | LISTE...
Gospel Singer/Actress Christina Bell Releases New Single "Still Holding On" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Singer Chris Gees Releases New Single "Try Love" | LISTEN!
Dutch Producer The Packxsz Releases Remix of Groove Theory's "Tell Me (The Packxsz Bump Mix)" | LIST...
Keke Palmer to Partner with The SRG-ILS Group for New Music Release in Early Summer 2024
R&B/Jazz Saxophonist Isaac Edwards Releases New Single “With You” | LISTEN!
UK R&B Singer Lewis Edwards Releases New Single "If I Couldn't" | LISTEN!
NEW VOICES: R&B Singer Katrina Carson to Release New Single "Selfish" on June 7th, 2024
Christian/R&B Singer TreVante Releases New Single "Remember" | LISTEN!
The Jeremy Ledbetter Trio to Release New Project "Gravity" on Sept. 13th, 2024
Pianist/Keyboardist Jesse ”JTJazz” Thompson Releases New Single "Late Nite" feat. Saxophonist Judah ...
Big O Holdings LLC and Sony Music Publishing To Administer Otis Redding Catalog
Brazilian Jazz Pianist/Vocalist Eliane Elias to Release New Album "Time And Again" on June 28th, 202...
Jazz Vocalist Synia Carroll Releases New Album "Water Is My Song" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Roderick Harper to Release New Single "Love Is In The Air" on May 31st, 2024
Milton Nascimento and esperanza spalding to Release New Collaboration "Milton + esperanza" on August...
Terri Green Presents The Weather Girls & New Single "Supa Luv" | LISTEN!
22-Year-Old Trumpeter Summer Camargo Releases New Debut Album "To Whom I Love" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Keyboardist Oli Silk Releases New Album "In Real Life" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer MONIFAH Releases New Single "TESTIFY" | LISTEN! New Album "Grace at Midnight" Coming in F...
Kenny G to Publish Memoir "Life In The Key Of G" with Blackstone Publishing on Sept. 24th, 2024
Aderemi Kabaka's Rare Album "Roots Funkadelia" to be Released on June 7th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Glasshaus Presents Bilal feat. Questlove, Common, Robert Glasper, & Burniss Travis - "Live at Glassh...
Legendary R&B Group The Spinners Releases New Album "Full Circle" | LISTEN!
U.K. Songstress Gabrielle to Release New Album "A Place in Your Heart" on May 10th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Evan Carydakis Releases New Single "Paradise Beach" | LISTEN!
Singer Fred White to Release Cover of Classic Hit "People Make The World Go Round" on May 10th, 2024...
Violinist Alexa Torres & Her Quartet to Release New Album "In Situ" on June 14th, 2024
Vocalist Milton Suggs & Pianist Michael King to Release New Project "Pure Intention" on July 12th, 2...
Guitarist Keith Andrew to Release New Single "Sapphire Cove" on May 31st, 2024 | LISTEN!
Gospel Singer Tasha Cobbs Leonard to Release New Book "Do It Anyway: Don’t Give Up Before It Gets Go...
Producer Eric "E Will" Williams with R&B Icons Coko and K-Ci Hailey Release New Single "Crazy For Yo...
Trumpeter/Singer Jeremy Turgeon Releases New Single "Turned It Around" | LISTEN!
Reggae Legend Beres Hammond Releases New Single "Let Me Help You" | LISTEN!
Music Legend Maurice White’s Final Recordings "Manifestation" Coming May 3rd, 2024 | WATCH & LISTEN!
Lalah Hathaway Releases New Single "So In Love" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! New Album "VANTABLACK" Arrives Ju...
Pianist Nduduzo Makhathini Releases New Single “Izinkonjana” | LISTEN! Announces New European & U.S....
NEW VOICES: Dallas Based R&B Singer Eve Rosja Drops New Single "In The Middle of the Game" | LISTEN!
Jazz Sax Legend John Klemmer Releases New Album “Chateau Love” | LISTEN!