Saxophonist Steve Cole Releases New Single “C’mon Y’all” | LISTEN! New Album Drops Oct. 6th, 2023 | Announces New Tour Dates for 2023

Steve Cole Shares New Single “C’mon Y’all”

New Album Without A Doubt out October 6 via Artistry Music/Mack Avenue Music Group

August 25, 2023: Today, saxophonist Steve Cole shared the new single “C’mon Y’all” from his forthcoming album, Without A Doubt, out on October 6 via Artistry Music/Mack Avenue Music Group.

“‘Come On Y’all’ was one of the first tunes that was written for this album,” states Cole. “I remember playing the demo for Adam Hawley who produced the album and him saying ‘You got a open your show with this track…it’s the ‘C’mon Y’all’ tune that gets the audience out of their seats…”

His first outing with producer and songwriter partner Adam Hawley, the album finds Cole taking the opportunity of this fresh start to approach his music with the open mind of a beginner and the confidence of a veteran at the top of his game. A gifted guitarist discovered by Maurice White of Earth, Wind & Fire, Hawley had crossed paths with Cole in a sideman role as his career was in its rapid ascendancy. He’s since gone on to top the Billboard charts 13 times as both an artist and producer, working with the likes of Kim Scott, Dave Koz and Brian Simpson.

Cole, who has played with the likes of Richard Patterson, Miles Davis, Boz Scaggs and David Sanborn, refers to himself as “a musical mutt.” That self-deprecating term reflects not only the playful spirit that infuses his soulful and joyous music, but the mélange of influences that have made him one of the most celebrated and popular artists in contemporary jazz.

The fact that Cole’s attitude, and the infectious music that emerged from it, can feel so freewheeling and vivifying is especially significant following two albums that arose from challenging circumstances. 2019’s Gratitude followed a daunting health scare affecting the saxophonist’s family, while 2021’s Smoke and Mirrors was Cole’s version of the now-familiar lockdown album, resulting in a more reflective session.

Cole and Hawley co-wrote all ten tracks on Without a Doubt, most of them originating with Cole in what the saxophonist calls an unprecedented burst of creativity. “I went through a very prolific period where I came up with lots of really good ideas, but nothing was fully formed. I really liked the music that Adam was putting out, so I thought it would be fun to work with him. So I sent him my fragments and the ideas he sent back elevated them even more than I could have imagined. The whole process was a series of pleasant surprises.”

Hawley also assembled the core band for the album, including bassist Mel Brown, drummer Eric Valentine and additional synth player Carnell Harrell, with Hawley serving as jack of all trades on synths, guitar, strings, organ, Fender Rhodes, programming and more. Caleb Middleton guests on Rhodes, synths, keyboard bass and programming on several tracks, with Trevor Neumann’s trumpet gracing a pair of cuts. Cole’s longtime producer David Mann also returns, adding horn arrangements and reeds to “C’mon Y’all” and “One, Two!”

Invigorating and groove-filled, funky and fun, soulful and smooth, rollicking and sweet – Steve Cole’s latest goes down smooth but is jam-packed with indelible hooks and rhythms that will propel listeners from their seat. It’s clear that Cole felt free to let his passions run rampant with nothing to prove – Without a Doubt.

Photo Credit: Aaron Rice

Without a Doubt Tracklist:
1. Attitude
2. C’mon Y’all
3. Make Your Move
4. Without a Doubt
5. One, Two!
6. Dreaming of You
7. It’s Like That
8. Steppin’
9. Up and at ‘Em
10. Echoes

Tour Dates:
October 13 – Denver, CO @ Soiled Dove Underground
October 14 – Seal Beach, CA @ Spaghettini
October 31 – Mallorca, Spain @ Mallorca Smooth Jazz Festival
November 11 – Hampton, VA @ Jazz Legacy Foundation

Missing Piece Group

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

British Jazz Group Ezra Collective Releases New Single “God Gave Me Feet For Dancing” | WATCH NEW VI...
Singer/Songwriter Angela Bofill dies at age 70
Vanessa Williams Releases New EP "Legs (Keep Dancing): The Remixes EP" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Will Preston Releases New Single "I'll Give It Right Back" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Donnell Spencer Jr. Releases New Single ”Go For Gold” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Vevo and Infinity Song Release Live Performance of New Single “Metamorphosis” | WATCH!
Rising R&B Singer Ebony Riley Releases New Single "Mirror" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Contemporary Soul Violinist Damien Escobar Releases New Album "Gemini" | LISTEN!
Meshell Ndegeocello Releases New Single “Love” | LISTEN! Announces New Tour Dates for 2024
Trombonist Michael Pallas to Release New Project "Gateway" on August 23rd, 2024
Singer Chris Blue Releases New Gospel Project "Foundations: The Hymns of My Heart" (Deluxe) | LISTEN...
Blues Singer/Guitarist Jontavious Willis to Release New Album "West Georgia Blues" on August 16th, 2...
Common & Pete Rock to Release Anticipated New Album “The Auditorium Vol. 1” on July 12th, 2024 | WAT...
Saxophonist Elias Haslanger & Trumpeter Mike Sailors Release New Album "Elias Haslanger Meets Mike S...
Brooklyn-Born R&B/Soul Singer Johnny Burgos to Release New Album "All I Ever Wonder" on June 28th, 2...
Smooth Soul Songstress Erin Stevenson to Release New Album “Cover Girl Uncovered” on June 28th, 2024
Jason Nelson and Madison Ryann Ward Release New Single "Made New" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Soul Singer Willie Clayton Releases New Single "Gotta Let You Go" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gospel Ensemble Ron Bell and CM3 Releases New Single "He'll Be With You Always" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Terrie Rimson Releases New EP "Out Of My Mind" | LISTEN!
Dominican-American Singer Elle Baez Releases New Single "I Am The Man" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Lorne Bowman Releases New Single "You're My Love" feat. Tim Bowman | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
The Original Broadway Cast Recording for Hell's Kitchen is Available NOW | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Sydney Raneé & Efajemue to Release New Single "Ride Your Mind" on June 21st, 2024
NEW VOICES: R&B Singer Katrina Carson to Release New Single "Selfish" on June 7th, 2024 | WATCH NEW ...
Bilal feat. Questlove, Robert Glasper & Burniss Travis Release New Single “All For Love” | WATCH! "L...
Keyboardist Dan Siegel to Release 23rd New Album "Unity" on August 9th, 2024
Gospel Singer Tiffany Favorite Releases New Single "Great Things" | LISTEN!
Singer/Filmmaker Ericka Nicole Malone Releases New Track "I'm Climbin'" | LISTEN!
Keyboardist Bob Baldwin to Release 2 New Albums "Songs My Father Would Dig" & "It's Okay To Dream" o...
Saxophonist Wayne Escoffery to Release New Project "Alone" on August 30th, 2024
Gospel Jazz Artist Bruce V. Allen Releases New EP "Come Back" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Legendary 80s Hitmaker D-Train to Release New Single "The Time Has Come Today" on June 7th, 2024 | W...
R&B Singer Keke Wyatt to Release New Album "Certified" on June 28th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Singer Sugaray Rayford Releases New Single "Stuck Between" feat. Sam Morrow | LISTEN!
Meshell Ndegeocello to Release New Album "No More Water: The Gospel Of James Baldwin" on August 2nd,...
Gospel Singer Terrance Bell Releases New Ballad "Perfect Man" | LISTEN!
Singer Lori Glori Releases New Single "Count Your Blessings" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
NEW VOICES! Rising Singer j.aaron Releases New Dance Single "Move!" | LISTEN!
George Benson to Release New Album "Dreams Do Come True: When George Benson Meets Robert Farnon" on ...