The Verve Jazz Ensemble to Release New Project “All In” on May 26th, 2023 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!

Verve Jazz Ensemble (VJE) Salutes
Panorama of Mid-20th Century Americana on
New Recording — All In

All In Available on all Digital Platforms – May 26

Since 2006, The Verve Jazz Ensemble has been performing and recording original material and heartfelt arrangements of hardbop, Afro-Cuban and Brazilian Jazz in the spirit of Norman Granz’s pioneering mid-`50s-birthed jazz label, Verve Records. The ensemble’s eighth and latest album, All In, finds seven musicians joyfully exploring the theme of “Mid-`20th century Americana” via two original compositions and eight arrangements of material from the pens of Neal Hefti, Herbie Hancock, Antonio Carlos Jobim, George Shearing, Toshiko Akiyoshi and Jean “Toots” Thielemans. Led by drummer/producer Josh Feldstein (with this release executive produced by VJE trumpeter/arranger Tatum Greenblatt), the New York-based septet dives in for yet another eclectic, dynamic, and deeply satisfying recording.

“Part of the band’s mission,” said Feldstein, “is to expand the audience of classic instrumental jazz. We identify melodies that even non-jazz pop audiences can easily relate to, groove to. You don’t need a degree in music to dig our approach to Jazz,” he joked. “Individually, we’ve all played in contemporary musical contexts,” Feldstein added. “But, as The Verve Jazz Ensemble, we move in a direction that’s appealing to both radio and to our broad listening audience. The VJE’s mission is to bring forward the acoustic jazz artform in a way that both veteran listeners and newcomers to Jazz can easily appreciate.”

The 10-song album opens with the title track, All In. This composition was originally penned more than a decade ago by Greenblatt as a jitterbug for a small New York swing group. Here, the song is wholly re-arranged by Tatum as the first of several VJE “big band reductions” for 7-pieces on the album – aiming to reinforce the big band’s original role, back in the day, as pop music for dancing.

Next up is the VJE’s arrangement of pianist George Shearing’s Midnight in the Air – an expansion of a short piece that was an ethereal interlude in its first form. The band then delivers two from the pen of the mighty Neal Hefti: a re-imagined Afro Cuban approach to the Theme from The Odd Couple, and the lovely Pensive Miss, first recorded by the Count Basie Orchestra on the classic 1958 Roulette Records LP, Basie Plays Hefti. Rat Packer Dean Martin’s humorous signature Ain’t That a Kick in the Head gets a fancy, if not abstract, makeover, followed by a swooning treatment of Jobim’s Once I Loved for trombone and flute. Rounding out the album, the VJE changes gears on the next track, featuring an impressive update on Toshiko Akiyoshi’s challenging Studio J, followed by Tatum Greenblatt’s thoughtful What I Meant to Say Was – set-up as a musical conversation between trumpet and alto sax. The album closes with the one-two punches of Bluesette for piano trio and Dolphin Dance for tenor-led quartet.

The Verve Jazz Ensemble is Tatum Greenblatt on trumpet, Willie Applewhite on trombone, Alexa Tarantino on alto sax/flute, Jon Blanck on tenor sax, Matt Oestreicher on piano and guitar, Elias Bailey on bass, and VJE leader Josh Feldstein on drums.

The Verve Jazz Ensemble started in ‘06 as a humble quintet in Connecticut playing local restaurants and country clubs before establishing its roots in New York City. It swiftly developed a following over the years which now includes a decade of recordings. And while the Covid pandemic hobbled many a jazz band, the VJE still managed to score with a live album, The VJE: Very Live! in 2021. Now, following a well-received show at the Germantown Performing Arts Center in Memphis, TN, The Verve Jazz Ensemble is pushing forward with more fortitude, spirit of homage, and creativity than before. Observed Feldstein, “This band has arrived at a new beginning, ready to establish ourselves in higher plateaus of acceptance.”

All In Available on All Digital Platforms – May 26


All In
Midnight In the Air
The Odd Couple Theme
Pensive Miss
Ain’t That A Kick In The Head
Once I Loved
Studio J
What I Meant To Say Was
Dolphin Dance

For more information on The Verve Jazz Ensemble please visit:

Twitter: @vervejazzens

Inque Public Relations & Marketing

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

British Jazz Group Ezra Collective Releases New Single “God Gave Me Feet For Dancing” | WATCH NEW VI...
Singer/Songwriter Angela Bofill dies at age 70
Vanessa Williams Releases New EP "Legs (Keep Dancing): The Remixes EP" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Will Preston Releases New Single "I'll Give It Right Back" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Donnell Spencer Jr. Releases New Single ”Go For Gold” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Vevo and Infinity Song Release Live Performance of New Single “Metamorphosis” | WATCH!
Rising R&B Singer Ebony Riley Releases New Single "Mirror" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Contemporary Soul Violinist Damien Escobar Releases New Album "Gemini" | LISTEN!
Meshell Ndegeocello Releases New Single “Love” | LISTEN! Announces New Tour Dates for 2024
Trombonist Michael Pallas to Release New Project "Gateway" on August 23rd, 2024
Singer Chris Blue Releases New Gospel Project "Foundations: The Hymns of My Heart" (Deluxe) | LISTEN...
Blues Singer/Guitarist Jontavious Willis to Release New Album "West Georgia Blues" on August 16th, 2...
Common & Pete Rock to Release Anticipated New Album “The Auditorium Vol. 1” on July 12th, 2024 | WAT...
Saxophonist Elias Haslanger & Trumpeter Mike Sailors Release New Album "Elias Haslanger Meets Mike S...
Brooklyn-Born R&B/Soul Singer Johnny Burgos to Release New Album "All I Ever Wonder" on June 28th, 2...
Smooth Soul Songstress Erin Stevenson to Release New Album “Cover Girl Uncovered” on June 28th, 2024
Jason Nelson and Madison Ryann Ward Release New Single "Made New" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Soul Singer Willie Clayton Releases New Single "Gotta Let You Go" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gospel Ensemble Ron Bell and CM3 Releases New Single "He'll Be With You Always" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Terrie Rimson Releases New EP "Out Of My Mind" | LISTEN!
Dominican-American Singer Elle Baez Releases New Single "I Am The Man" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Lorne Bowman Releases New Single "You're My Love" feat. Tim Bowman | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
The Original Broadway Cast Recording for Hell's Kitchen is Available NOW | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Sydney Raneé & Efajemue to Release New Single "Ride Your Mind" on June 21st, 2024
NEW VOICES: R&B Singer Katrina Carson to Release New Single "Selfish" on June 7th, 2024 | WATCH NEW ...
Bilal feat. Questlove, Robert Glasper & Burniss Travis Release New Single “All For Love” | WATCH! "L...
Keyboardist Dan Siegel to Release 23rd New Album "Unity" on August 9th, 2024
Gospel Singer Tiffany Favorite Releases New Single "Great Things" | LISTEN!
Singer/Filmmaker Ericka Nicole Malone Releases New Track "I'm Climbin'" | LISTEN!
Keyboardist Bob Baldwin to Release 2 New Albums "Songs My Father Would Dig" & "It's Okay To Dream" o...
Saxophonist Wayne Escoffery to Release New Project "Alone" on August 30th, 2024
Gospel Jazz Artist Bruce V. Allen Releases New EP "Come Back" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Legendary 80s Hitmaker D-Train to Release New Single "The Time Has Come Today" on June 7th, 2024 | W...
R&B Singer Keke Wyatt to Release New Album "Certified" on June 28th, 2024 | LISTEN!
Singer Sugaray Rayford Releases New Single "Stuck Between" feat. Sam Morrow | LISTEN!
Meshell Ndegeocello to Release New Album "No More Water: The Gospel Of James Baldwin" on August 2nd,...
Gospel Singer Terrance Bell Releases New Ballad "Perfect Man" | LISTEN!
Singer Lori Glori Releases New Single "Count Your Blessings" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
NEW VOICES! Rising Singer j.aaron Releases New Dance Single "Move!" | LISTEN!
George Benson to Release New Album "Dreams Do Come True: When George Benson Meets Robert Farnon" on ...