Singer/Songwriter Donn T to Release New CD “Flight Of The Donn T” on April 21st, 2015

Donn T - Flight of the Donn T

Singer/Songwriter’s Latest Effort Is The Inaugural Full-Length Release On Her Own Label, D-Tone Victorious

Performing at The Roots Picnic 5/30; iTunes & Amazon Preorder Launched Today With Instant Grat Track “I Recognize”

Eclectic singer/songwriter Donn T has just announced the release of her second studio album. Flight Of the Donn T will be released April 21, on Donn T’s own D Tone Victorious label, distributed by MRI/RED. A preorder for Flight Of The Donn T has launched today (March 24) and fans who reserve the album digitally will automatically receive the track “I Recognize.”

A noted vocalist, live performer and songwriter who has collaborated with artists like Common & Jill Scott, Donn T has now added label owner to her list of accomplishments, launching D Tone Victorious in 2014. D ToneVictorious is distributed via MRI/ RED, a division of Sony Music Entertainment. When asked why she underwent the arduous task of starting her own label, Donn T simply says, “Necessity is the mother of invention.” On Flight of The Donn T, she shares co-production credit with her husband Jake Morelli, a guitarist/ producer whose performance credits include stints with Ed Sheeran, Bruno Mars, Ne-Yo, The Roots, Roberta Flack, Jennifer Hudson, Grace Potter, Esperanza Spalding, and Hunter Hayes. She and Morelli share additional writing credit with Mike McHenry (Miley Cyrus, Rihanna, Black Eyed Peas, Madonna), Ray Angry (Christina Aguilera, Mark Ronson, Mick Jagger), DJ Danophonic and Steve McKie (Bilal). Two tracks from Flight Of The Donn T have already received notice via visual media. First single “Midnight” was featured in the Lifetime television movie With This Ring, which co-starred Regina Hall, Eve & Jill Scott, while the haunting ballad “Waiting” appeared over the closing credits of the Ava DuVernay (Selma)-directed film I Will Follow.

On March 23rd, Donn T took the stage at New York’s legendary Carnegie Hall for a tribute to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame band Talking Heads, where she performed “Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)”. She will also be performing at the upcoming annual Roots Picnic, taking place in Philadelphia on May 30th.

Donn T originally hails from Philadelphia, and comes from a storied musical lineage. Her grandfather was Beachy Thompson of the pioneering gospel group The Dixie Hummingbirds. Her father is LeeAndrews, leader of legendary doo-wop group Lee Andrews & The Hearts. He and Donn T’s mother,Jacqui, were in the soul group Congress Alley. Donn T’s brother, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, is a Grammy-winning musician and bandleader of The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon. Family ties notwithstanding, Donn T is a unique talent in her own right.

Flight Of The Donn T Track Listing:
1. Last Breath
2. I Recognize
3. Fly
4. What’s Beautiful
5. Rainbow Girl
6. Viva
7. To the Moon, Alice!
8. Midnight
9. Bother Me
10. Elevator
11. Waiting

Preorder Flight Of The Donn T: iTunes | Amazon

Donn T Online: Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

More News....on The Urban Music Scene!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *