VP Records Releases New Tribute Collection, “Reggae Mandela” (Vinyl, 2 CD & Digital) on Feb 8th, 2019

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather


Available on Vinyl, Double CD & all Digital platforms February 8, 2019

NEW YORK, NY – VP Records celebrates the life and legacy of the South African leader, Nelson Mandela, 100 years after his birth and 25 years after his election in April 1994 as President of South Africa. Released for Black History Month 2019, Reggae Mandela chronicles the awareness within the reggae community of Mandela’s struggles, as well as the collective celebration of his victory over apartheid, his freedom, and his ascension to the presidency.

The collection begins in the late 70s with the Mighty Travellers’ underground anthem “South Africa” and carries the energy through 36 tracks across two CD’s (12 of which are featured on a limited edition vinyl LP). Highlights include Half Pint’s “Freedom Fighters,” recorded for Channel One, and a young Yami Bolo in exceptional form on “Free Mandela,” under the supervision of keyboard king Jackie Mittoo.

Artists featured include the Mighty Diamonds, Junior Murvin, Alpha Blondy, Aswad, Jimmy Cliff, Cocoa Tea, Sugar Minott, Barrington Levy, and dozens more.

Nelson Mandela would have been 100 last year & there is an exhibition travelling globally to celebrate this centenary. The album is released on the day that the exhibition opens in London. https://mandelaexhibition.com

Follow VP Records on Instagram (@vprecords, @greensleevesrecords, @17northparade) and all major social media and streaming platforms.

CD Tracklisting

Disc One
01. South Africa – Mighty Travellers
02. Free South Africa – Frankie Jones
03. Freedom Fighters – Half Pint
04. Wipe Out Apartheid – Johnny Osbourne
05. Nah Go To South Africa – Sugar Minott
06. Mash Down Apartheid – Mystic Revealers
07. Free Mandela – Yami Bolo
08. Black Heroes – Snowman
09. Apartheid – Junior Murvin
10. Winnie Mandela – Carlene Davis
11. Mr Botha – The Mighty Diamonds
12. Free Africa – Charlie Chaplin
13. A Letter To Nelson Mandela – Sugar Minott
14. Crying In Soweto – Harold Butler & The Four Corners
15. Apartheid Is Nazism – Alpha Blondy
16. Set Them Free – Aswad
17. Sing Our Own Song – UB40
18. Pressure On Botha – Jimmy Cliff & Josey Wales

Disc Two
01. Hanging Tree – Junior Delgado
02. Real Enemy – The Mighty Diamonds
03. Get Up Stand Up – Cultural Roots
04. President Botha – Cocoa Tea
05. Bawling For Mandela – Admiral Bailey
06. Gun Shot Fi Botha – Danny Dread
07. Africa Don’t Worry – Flourgon
08. Mandela Free – Shabba Ranks
09. Mandela You’re Free – Barrington Levy
10. Mandela Story – Tony Rebel
11. Shepherd Be Careful – Dennis Brown & Cocoa Tea
12. The Word – Hopeton Lindo
13. Can You – Brian & Tony Gold
14. Prophecy Fulfil – Bounty Killer
15. Rise Up President Mandela – Carlene Davis
16. Steve Biko – Beenie Man
17. Mr Mandela African Hero – Clive Hylton
18. Thank You Mr Mandela – Carlene Davis

LP Tracklisting

Side One
01. South Africa – Mighty Travellers
02. Free South Africa – Frankie Jones
03. Freedom Fighters – Half Pint
04. Wipe Out Apartheid – Johnny Osbourne
05. Nah Go To South Africa – Sugar Minott
06. Mash Down Apartheid – Mystic Revealers

Side Two
01. Hanging Tree – Junior Delgado
02. Free Mandela – Yami Bolo
03. The Real Enemy – The Mighty Diamonds
04. Mandela You’re Free – Barrington Levy
05. Mr. Mandela African Hero – Clive Hylton
06. Thank You Mr. Mandela – Carlene Davis

VP Records

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Singer Lamont Dozier, Jr. Releases New Singles “Why Can’t We Be Lovers” & ”I’m Gonna Take My Time” |...
Gospel Legend Betty Griffin Keller Returns with Single "So Much To Thank God For"
Singer Kipper Jones Releases New Single "Wishing On A Star" | LISTEN!
British Singer Sheyi Releases Music Video for ‘Stronger’ | WATCH!
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New EP "Intercession" | LISTEN to New Single "Let It Fall (Live)"!
Ralph Tresvant Releases New Single "All Mine" feat. Johnny Gill | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Group 112 to Release New Single "Spend It All" on July 24th | New EP "112 FORVER: Slim & Mike" C...
Lila Iké Releases New Music Video for "Forget Me" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Music Video for "Rose Rouge" | WATCH NOW!
New Official Music Video for Bob Marley's "No Woman No Cry" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Michael Stuckey to Release New Album "Live in Ghana" on July 3rd, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Chelsey Green and The Green Project to Release New EP "ReEnvisioned" on July 27th, 2020
R&B Singer J. Brown Releases New Ballad "Hopelessly In Love" | LISTEN!
Music Legend Charlie Wilson Releases New Video for Single "One I Got" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Mister Holland" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Travis Greene Releases New Collection "Love Playlist"
Pianist Gerald Clayton Releases New Single "A Light" | LISTEN! | New Album Drops July 10th, 2020
Latin Jazz Artist John Santos to Release New Album "Art of the Descarga" on Aug. 7th, 2020
Singer Louise Golbey Releases New Single "Scarlet Woman" | LISTEN!
UK Funk Band The Haggis Horns Releases New Album "Stand Up For Love" | Listen to New Single "Haggis ...
R&B Group The Suffers Release New Single "Take Me To The Good Times" | LISTEN!
Mali Music Releases Live Performance of "Let Go" for Vevo Ctrl | WATCH!
Singer Darius Scott Releases New Single "Big Brave Man" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Billy Childs to Release New Album "Acceptance" on Aug. 28th, 2020
Keyboardist Al Degregoris Releases New Album "Time Sensitive" | LISTEN to New Single "Cookie Jar"!
Hillsong Worship and Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New Single "Awake My Soul" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO!
Sax Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Other Side Of The Pillow" - LISTEN! | New Album Drops J...
Greyboy Allstars Announce 1st New Record In 7 Years "Como De Allstars" - Coming July 3rd, 2020 | LIS...
Singer Tony Walk Releases New Single "Love Won't Let Me Wait" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Robert Copeland Releases New Album "That Jesus Feelin'" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Si...
R&B Singer Avant to Release Anticipated New Album "Can We Fall In Love" on July 10th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Marvin Sapp Releases New Single "Thank You For It All" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Michael Silverman to Release New Album "Human Spirit" with Jeff Lorber on July 15th, 2020 | ...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Kim Waters' Entire New Album “Shakedown” from Now til June 1...
Gospel Singer San Franklin Releases New Single "Set My Feet" on July 3rd, 2020 | LISTEN!
Jazz Keyboardist/Vocalist William Green to Release New Single "The Power In You" on July 7th, 2020 |...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *