Boney James Returns to Concord Records | Slated to Release New CD, “The Beat” on April 9th, 2013

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather


Guest Artists Include Raheem DeVaughn, The Floacist, Rick Braun

Three-time GRAMMY nominee Boney James
has returned to former label Concord Records with a dynamic,
genre-busting album The Beat. One of the most successful
instrumental artists of our time with sales totaling over 3 million
records, James’ new project fuses his R&B/Jazz roots with Latin
rhythm and percussion.

“This record was born of my love for both Latin and R&B
music and became a mash-up of the two genres.  The initial inspiration
for the record was Sergio Mendes’ “Batucada (The Beat),” which I
re-imagined as a funk tune.” “Batucada (The Beat)” reunites Boney with
trumpet great Rick Braun. “Rick and I have a wonderful history. There
is a certain edge and energy that comes out when we play together
that creates a really cool vibe.”

Other special guests on the project include eclectic R&B
soul singer Raheem DeVaughn and spoken word phenom The Floacist. The
first Urban AC single, going for adds in mid-February, is “Maker of
Love,” a sexy, soulful song featuring DeVaughn. “Raheem is an artist
I’ve wanted to work with for a long time and we actually met by
following each other on Twitter! I sent him the track and he came back
with an incredible lyric and finished vocal,” says James.

UK poet and musician The Floacist (former partner of Marsha
Ambrosius) brings a seductive flow to “The Midas (This is Why)” which
adds to the World Music flavor of the album. James says, “This track
is a real serious mash-up with the R&B groove, the shekere and
conga percussion, coupled with the ‘Euro’ vibe from The Floacist!”

Other treasures on the album include James’ fresh take on
Stevie Wonder’s R&B/Latin classic “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing,”
along with originals by James that run the gamut from subtle and
sophisticated with tracks like “Acalento (Lullaby)” and “Mari’s Song,”
to high energy with “Sunset Boulevard,” and “Powerhouse.”

James produced the record and wrote (or co-wrote) eight songs.
The album marks his return to Concord Records. Mark Wexler, General
Manager/SVP, Concord-Telarc Label Group says, “Boney is one of those
unique artists that truly understands his outstanding talent and knows
how to blend his originality with what his fans love to hear. We
couldn’t be more thrilled to have him back as part of our Concord
family.” James is equally enthusiastic about re-joining the label,
“Concord and I have had great successes, previously, and I couldn’t be
more excited to be working with them on one of the best records I’ve
ever done.”

In addition to his GRAMMY nominations, James is a Soul Train
Award winner (Best Jazz Album) and has been honored with an NAACP
Image Award nomination for Best Jazz Album. He has accumulated four
RIAA Certified Gold Records. To date, nine of James’ albums have
reached No. 1 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Chart and two have
reached the top 10 on the R&B Albums Chart, a rare feat for an
instrumental artist.

Complete Track Listing:
1.      Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing (4:56)
2.      Sunset Boulevard (4:07)
3.      Missing You (3:37)
4.      Batucada (The Beat) featuring Rick Braun (4:03)
5.      Maker of Love featuring Raheem DeVaughn (3:48)
6.      Mari’s Song (4:28)
7.      Powerhouse (4:00)
8.      The Midas (This Is Why) featuring The Floacist (4:03)
9.      Acalento (Lullaby) (4:04)
10.  You Can Count On Me (4:57)

Boney is also renowned for his compelling live performances.
According to The Boston Globe: “Let’s make something perfectly clear:
James is not a smooth jazz player. Yeah, he is often grouped with
people like Kenny G and Najee, but his music is muscular and
gritty….James swaggers across the stage like a blacktop hero draining
trays on an overmatched opponent. He even weaves his way through the
crowd, all but daring them not to have a good time.”

Boney will be on tour for all of 2013 following the release of The Beat. 
Initial tour dates are:

3/30 Detroit MI – Fox Theater
4/6 Las Vegas NV- Boulder Station                                 
4/18 Panama City Beach FL- Seabreeze Jazz Fest
4/20 Durham NC- Carolina Theatre
4/23 Bergen NJ- Bergen PAC
4/24 Glenside PA- Keswick Theatre
4/25 Cleveland OH- Ohio Theatre
4/26 Pittsburgh PA- Byham Theatre
4/27 Buffalo NY- Buffalo State PAC
4/28 Alexandria VA- The Birchmere
7/21 San Dimas CA- Jazz Fest West
10/12 San Diego- Smooth Jazz Cruise
10/25 Troy NY- Troy Savings Bank Music Hall
10/26 New Haven CT- Lyman Center
10/27 Boston MA- Wilbur Theater

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Kirk Franklin Releases New Video for "Strong God" | WATCH!
Jekalyn Carr to Release 2 New Videos & Digital Tracks for "Changing Your Story" and "Power of Love" ...
Bette Smith Releases New Single "Memories" feat. Jesse Johnson | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Skip Marley Releases New Single "No Love" | WATCH NEW LYRIC VIDEO!
Singer Tamika Patton Releases New Single "Stand On His Promises" | LISTEN!
Pianist Gerald Clayton to Release New Album "Happening: Live at the Village Vanguard" on July 10th, ...
Saxophonist Mike Phillips Releases Star-Studded New Music Video for "Flava In Ya Ear" (Remix) | WAT...
R&B Stylist Sinéad Harnett Releases New Music Video for "Quarantine Queen" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! Singer Jason Leon Releases New Single "Rope" | LISTEN!
Funk Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Hard Times" | New Album Drops June 26th | LISTEN!
Miles Davis Estate & The JFA Present "A Miles Davis Birthday Celebration" on SiriusXM's 'Real Jazz' ...
Singer Renee Dion Releases New 3-Track EP "Patience • Relax • Endure" | LISTEN!
Singer Russell Taylor Releases New Official Music Video for "Come Morning" | WATCH!
Vintage Trouble Releases Stirring New Single “Outside-In” | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Indie Soul Band Soulganic to Release New Single "Tabasco Jones" on June 19th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Singer Bluey Returns with New Album "Tinted Sky" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Back Her...
Tay Da Prince and John Legend Release Music Video for "Love One Another" in Support of COVID-19 Reli...
Gregory D and Company Releases New Single "My Time" on June 5th, 2020
Drummer Brian Andres Debuts New Trio Latino Project "Mayan Suite" | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Viento S...
Piano Legend Chick Corea to Release New Album "Plays" {2-CD/3-LP} on Aug. 28th, 2020 | LISTEN to "Mo...
Singer Donnie Releases New Single ”America (Do You Wanna Go Higher?)" | LISTEN!
Lila Iké Releases Debut EP "The Experience" | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Solitude"!
Producer Chris "Big Dog" Davis to Release New Album "Focus" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Singer Sherri Brown Releases New Single "Invitation" | LISTEN!
Songstress Selina Albright to Release New Single "Discovering" on July 3rd, 2020
Saxophonist Euge Groove to Release New Album "Sing My Song" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Pastor Stephen Robinson Releases New Single "He Can Do It" | LISTEN!
Ramsey Lewis Returns with Monthly Online Series "Saturday Salon" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Pianist Al Daniels Releases New Album "Brasiliana" | LISTEN to New Single "Change The World" fe...
Singer Shirley King to Release New Album "Blues For A King" on June 19th, 2020
Keyboardist Jakob Magnusson Releases New EP "High North" | LISTEN to Single "Next To You!"
Reggae Singer Christopher Martin Releases New Single "Little Green Apples" | LISTEN!
Trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire to Release New Album "on the tender spot of every calloused moment" on ...
Jonathan Traylor Releases New Album "The Unknown" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO for Single "You Get The Glory!...
Singer Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Phoenix" | WATCH NEW LYRIC VIDEO!
Vocalist/Trombonist David L. Harris Releases New Album "More Than Love … to be a man"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *