Joe Jackson To Release Duke Ellington Tribute Album ‘The Duke’

Joe Jackson To Release Duke Ellington Tribute Album ‘The Duke’

to Jackson’s word, The Duke is a decidedly unconventional salute to
Ellington, demonstrating the timeless brilliance of his classic
compositions while showcasing Jackson’s sublime skills as an arranger,
instrumentalist and vocal interpreter. Although it’s only the second
time he’s recorded an album not comprised of his own compositions, The
Duke is nonetheless a deeply personal project for Jackson, whose
longstanding affinity for Ellington’s pioneering spirit has served as a
key inspiration throughout his own three-decades-plus career.

Duke finds the iconoclastic English
singer/composer/arranger/keyboardist and five-time Grammy nominee
interpreting 15 Ellington classics over the course of ten tracks,
interspersing melodic and rhythmic elements of various compositions in a
manner that’s consistent with Ellington’s own freewheeling approach.
Rather than emulating the songs’ original big-band settings, Jackson
filters the material through his own musical imagination while exploring
an assortment of unexpected grooves and textures. The resulting album
is a seamless fusion of sounds and styles, whose abundant sense of
playfulness is consistent with Ellington’s boundary-breaking attitude.

revere Duke Ellington, but I didn’t want this to be a reverent album, ”
Joe Jackson says of The Duke, his new tribute to American jazz giant

“Ellington didn’t consider his own arrangements to be
sacred, ” Jackson notes. “He constantly reworked them, sometimes quite
radically. So I think my approach is in the spirit of the man himself.”

distinctive voice is featured on I’m Beginning To See The Light, Mood
, and I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good), while It Don’t Mean A
Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
finds him trading vocals with punk
icon Iggy Pop. R&B diva Sharon Jones, meanwhile, shines with a
soulful I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But The Blues. In keeping with Ellington’s
multiculturalism, Jackson also encouraged Iranian singer Sussan Deyhim
to perform a soaring Caravan in Farsi, and Lilian Vieira, of the
Brazilian/Dutch collective Zuco 103, to create a sunny, sexy Portuguese
version of Perdido.

The album’s striking mix of electronic and
organic textures is especially evident on instrumentals like Isfahan,
Rockin’ In Rhythm, The Mooche, and Black and Tan Fantasy.
The musicians
include two contemporary jazz stars, violinist Regina Carter and bassist
Christian McBride; rock guitar hero Steve Vai; drummer Ahmir
‘?uestlove’ Thompson
and other members of The Roots; and two of
Jackson’s old associates, guitarist Vinnie Zummo and percussionist Sue
The album was recorded and mixed by the legendary Elliot
(Steely Dan, Sting, Bob Dylan).

Though The Duke is a
tribute album, it’s also very much a Joe Jackson album, consistent with
his long-standing sense of musical adventure.

“When I started
this”, Jackson says, “It felt a little daunting – like, how am I gonna
pull this off? But it started to pick up momentum, and took on a life of
its own. I got to work with people I never thought I’d be able to get,
and they were all extremely enthusiastic and supportive of the project.
It all came together in a way that surpassed my expectations. And it’s
been a hell of a lot of fun.”

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Bette Smith Releases New Single "Memories" feat. Jesse Johnson | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Skip Marley Releases New Single "No Love" | WATCH NEW LYRIC VIDEO!
Singer Tamika Patton Releases New Single "Stand On His Promises" | LISTEN!
Pianist Gerald Clayton to Release New Album "Happening: Live at the Village Vanguard" on July 10th, ...
Saxophonist Mike Phillips Releases Star-Studded New Music Video for "Flava In Ya Ear" (Remix) | WAT...
R&B Stylist Sinéad Harnett Releases New Music Video for "Quarantine Queen" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! Singer Jason Leon Releases New Single "Rope" | LISTEN!
Funk Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Hard Times" | New Album Drops June 26th | LISTEN!
Miles Davis Estate & The JFA Present "A Miles Davis Birthday Celebration" on SiriusXM's 'Real Jazz' ...
Singer Renee Dion Releases New 3-Track EP "Patience • Relax • Endure" | LISTEN!
Singer Russell Taylor Releases New Official Music Video for "Come Morning" | WATCH!
Vintage Trouble Releases Stirring New Single “Outside-In” | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Indie Soul Band Soulganic to Release New Single "Tabasco Jones" on June 19th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Singer Bluey Returns with New Album "Tinted Sky" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Back Her...
Tay Da Prince and John Legend Release Music Video for "Love One Another" in Support of COVID-19 Reli...
Gregory D and Company Releases New Single "My Time" on June 5th, 2020
Drummer Brian Andres Debuts New Trio Latino Project "Mayan Suite" | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Viento S...
Piano Legend Chick Corea to Release New Album "Plays" {2-CD/3-LP} on Aug. 28th, 2020 | LISTEN to "Mo...
Singer Donnie Releases New Single ”America (Do You Wanna Go Higher?)" | LISTEN!
Lila Iké Releases Debut EP "The Experience" | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Solitude"!
Producer Chris "Big Dog" Davis to Release New Album "Focus" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Singer Sherri Brown Releases New Single "Invitation" | LISTEN!
Songstress Selina Albright to Release New Single "Discovering" on July 3rd, 2020
Saxophonist Euge Groove to Release New Album "Sing My Song" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Pastor Stephen Robinson Releases New Single "He Can Do It" | LISTEN!
Ramsey Lewis Returns with Monthly Online Series "Saturday Salon" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Pianist Al Daniels Releases New Album "Brasiliana" | LISTEN to New Single "Change The World" fe...
Singer Shirley King to Release New Album "Blues For A King" on June 19th, 2020
Keyboardist Jakob Magnusson Releases New EP "High North" | LISTEN to Single "Next To You!"
Reggae Singer Christopher Martin Releases New Single "Little Green Apples" | LISTEN!
Trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire to Release New Album "on the tender spot of every calloused moment" on ...
Jonathan Traylor Releases New Album "The Unknown" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO for Single "You Get The Glory!...
Singer Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Phoenix" | WATCH NEW LYRIC VIDEO!
Vocalist/Trombonist David L. Harris Releases New Album "More Than Love … to be a man"
New Whitney Houston Biopic "I Wanna Dance with Somebody" Coming Soon
Funk Legend Maceo Parker to Release New Studio Album "Soul Food - Cooking With Maceo" on June 26th, ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *