Pianist Marcus Roberts Reunites with Wynton Marsalis | Set to Release 3 New Albums

This Fall, Marcus Roberts Releases Ambitious 12-Movement Original
Suite With His Trio And Reunites With Wynton Marsalis On 2
Again’ Albums

Photo Credit: John Douglas

“Genius” pianist Marcus Roberts, who got his
first major break 28 years ago as the pianist in Wynton Marsalis’ band
and has been an innovator and major figure in the jazz world ever since,
is in the midst of a tremendously productive period in his career that
will see the release of three new albums this fall. One is ‘From Rags To
Rhythm, ‘ an ambitious, original twelve-movement thematic suite that is
the most comprehensive work to date reflecting his unique trio
philosophy, while the other two other albums feature the reunion of old
friends Roberts and Wynton Marsalis, who has called Roberts “the genius
of the modern piano.” The ‘Together Again’ albums, one studio and one
live, mark the first time they have released significant works together
in two decades.

In the last two years, Roberts has been
particularly busy composing, arranging, teaching, and performing. He
debuted his first concerto for piano and orchestra, ‘Spirit of the
Blues: Piano Concerto in C Minor, ‘ with Robert Spano and the Atlanta
Symphony Orchestra. Roberts also re-recorded, re-imagined and
re-released his 1990 opus (‘Deep in the Shed: A Blues Suite (2012), ‘
released a distinctive album of holiday songs called ‘Celebrating
Christmas (2011), ‘ and toured with Bela Fleck for their album together
‘Across the Imaginary Divide (2012), ‘ with Bela Fleck and the Marcus
Roberts Trio. Most recently, Roberts has expanded his trio conception
even farther with the founding of a new large ensemble, “The Modern Jazz

*’From Rags To Rhythm’ – Marcus Roberts Trio
dynamic twelve-movement suite of contrasting moods, tempos and musical
forms that pushes the boundaries of the piano trio. Highly
improvisational, Roberts and his trio trade on a series of five primary
melodic themes throughout the suite. Marcus Roberts, piano; Rodney
Jordan, bass; Jason Marsalis, drums.

1. On a Special Occasion
2. There’s a Dance Tonight
3. The Spanish Tinge
4. Playing Around
5. A New Orleans Parade
6. From Rags to Rhythm
7. On the Edge of the Unknown
8. The Reservoir
9. Gotta Play Your Own Song
10. The Duo
11. Under the Cover of Darkness
12. Searching for the Blues

*’Together Again in the Studio’ – Marcus Roberts Trio w/ Wynton Marsalis
7-track album including 5 original Roberts compositions. Marcus
Roberts, piano; Roland Guerin, bass; Jason Marsalis, drums; Wynton
Marsalis, trumpet.

1. Cole After Midnight
2. The Duo
3. Mack the Knife
4. As Serenity Approaches
5. Play the Blues and Swing
6. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
7. The Feeling of Something New

*’Together Again Live in Concert’ – Marcus Roberts Trio w/ Wynton Marsalis
7-track live album of standards including “Giant Steps, ” Black and Tan
Fantasy, ” Jelly Roll Morton’s “New Orleans Blues.” Marcus Roberts,
piano; Roland Guerin, bass; Jason Marsalis, drums; Wynton Marsalis,

1. Blue Skies
2. Giant Steps
3. Embraceable You
4. New Orleans Blues
5. East of the Sun (West of the Moon)
6. Black and Tan Fantasy
7. When the Saints Go Marching In

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

R&B Singer K'Jon Releases New Single "Live, Love & Laughter" | LISTEN!
Kierra Sheard Releases New Single "It Keeps Happening" - WATCH NEW VIDEO! | New Album "KIERRA" Comin...
Charles Lloyd Releases New Album "8: Kindred Spirits (Live from The Lobero)" (CD/DVD) | WATCH NEW VI...
R&B Singer Omar Wilson Releases New Single "The Groove" | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Frank Vocals Releases New 2-Track EP "Love's Taking Over" | LISTEN!
Gospel Singer Earnest Pugh Launches The 2020 Easter Anthem Challenge | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Singer Tanya Nolan Releases New Self-Titled Album | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Synergy!"
NEW VOICES! Songstress Renay Releases New Album "Pure Love" | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Wanna Shar...
"Oscar, With Love" Tribute Deluxe Limited Edition 5-LP Set Arrives Feb. 21st, 2020
Vocalist Mahalia Fontaine Releases New Single "Empires" on Feb. 21st, 2020 | LISTEN!
Pastor Mike, Jr. Reaches #1 on Billboard Gospel Airplay Chart with Single "Big" | LISTEN!
Deborah Cox Releases Official Music Video for Single "Easy Way" | Co-Stars in New Film Influence Pre...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Vincent Ingala’s Entire New Album “Echoes Of The Heart” from...
Trumpeter Marquis Hill Releases New Album "Love Tape: With Voices" on Feb. 14th, 2020 | LISTEN to Si...
Saxophonist Jimmy Greene to Release New Album "While Looking Up" on April 3rd, 2020
Charlie Wilson Releases Official Music Video for Single "Forever Valentine" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "If Love Is Overrated" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Rexy* Releases New Music Video for Single "All Our Lives" | WATCH!
Vocalist Cynthia Scott Releases New Single "Sweet Valentine" | LISTEN!
Vocalist Gloria Reuben & Guitarist Marty Ashby Releases New Album "For All We Know" on Feb. 14th, 20...
Little Steven Announces Remastered Vinyl Edition Of Landmark Protest Album, 'Sun City' | Coming Marc...
Boney James to Release New Album "Solid" on April 17th, 2020 | Announces New Tour Dates
Singer Antoine Dunn to Release New Album "Everything" on Feb. 14th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "I'm...
Singer Isaac Carree Releases New Single "Legend" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! Album "No Risk, No Reward" Drops...
Nina Simone's Album "Fodder On My Wings" Reissued on LP & CD/Digital | Coming April 3rd, 2020 | WATC...
Pianist/Keyboardist Connie Han to Release New Album "Iron Starlet" on April 10th, 2020
Jody Watley to Release New EP "Winter Nights"
Pianist Bob Baldwin to Release 31st New Album "Henna" on Feb. 7th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Long...
Sy Smith Releases New Official Music Video for "Camelot" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! Singer Maurice Smith Releases New Single "I Still Believe" | LISTEN!
Guitarist Chris Standring to Release New Album "Real Life" on March 20th, 2020 | WATCH VIDEO for "Is...
Rissi Palmer Releases New Official Music Video for "You Were Here (Sage's Song)" | WATCH!
Mali Music Releases New Single "Let Go" | LISTEN!
Kandace Springs to Release New Album "The Women Who Raised Me" on March 27th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Saxophonist Wayne Escoffery to Release New Album "The Humble Warrior" on April 10th, 2020
Missy Elliott And H.E.R. Join Forces For Pepsi Zero Sugar Super Bowl LIV Commercial | WATCH VIDEO!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *