Terence Blanchard to Release New Tribute Album “Absence” on Aug. 27th, 2021 | LISTEN to 2 New Tracks! Announces New Tour!

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather


UPDATED AUG. 6th, 2021: LISTEN to New Single “Fall” Below!

On August 27, Terence Blanchard will release Absence, a stunning new album that pays tribute to legendary composer and saxophonist Wayne Shorter. Featuring the acclaimed trumpeter with The E-Collective—pianist Fabian Almazan, guitarist Charles Altura, bassist David Ginyard, and drummer Oscar Seaton—and the Turtle Island Quartet led by violinist/artistic director David Balakirshnan with Gabe Terracciano on violin, Benjamin von Gutzeit on viola, and Malcom Parson on cello, the album presents pieces written by Shorter as well as original compositions by Blanchard and members of his band. Listen to the title track “Absence” written by Ginyard, which is available to stream or download today.

“I’m proud to have a chance to visit some of the music that has shaped my musical identity,” says Blanchard. “Pairing Wayne Shorter’s music with original works from The E-Collective along with the sonic colors of The Turtle Island Quartet has been an amazing experience. Wayne has said before ‘Jazz means I Dare You,’ so why not dare to be creative and pay homage at the same time,” said Blanchard.

The release of Absence comes at an especially prolific time for Blanchard whose opera Fire Shut Up In My Bones will open the 2021-22 season of The Metropolitan Opera in New York City on September 27, making it the first opera by a black composer in the 136-year history of the Met. In addition, Blanchard has just wrapped-up scoring Spike Lee’s upcoming and much-anticipated HBO documentary about New York City, NYC Epicenters 9/11-2021½ which will premiere this Fall. Blanchard will also commence writing for the second season of the HBO series Perry Mason.

Blanchard will also be touring this Fall in support of the album release, including a free outdoor concert on August 6 with The E-Collective and the Turtle Island Quartet in New York City’s Bryant Park as part of the Carnegie Hall Citywide concert series. Below is a list of confirmed tour dates, with more to be announced shortly.



Aug. 6 – Carnegie Hall Citywide @ Bryant Park – New York, NY
Sept. 5 – Riverfront Jazz Festival – Dallas, TX
Oct. 2 – Exit Zero Jazz Festival – Cape May, NJ
Oct. 15 – Zoellner Arts Center – Bethlehem, PA
Oct. 16 – Matthews Theatre – Princeton, NJ
Oct. 17 – New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival – New Orleans, LA
Nov. 4 – Uihlein Hall – Milwaukee, WI
Nov. 13 – The Music Hall – Portsmouth, NH

The track listing for Absence is as follows:

1. Absence (David Ginyard)
2. The Elders (Wayne Shorter)
3. Fall (Shorter)
4. I Dare You (Intro) (Terence Blanchard)
5. I Dare You (Blanchard)
6. Envisioned Reflections (Intro) (Ginyard)
7. Envisioned Reflections (Ginyard)
8. The Second Wave (David Balakrishnan)
9. When It Was Now (Shorter)
10. Dark Horse (Charles Altura)
11. Diana (Shorter)
12. More Elders (Shorter)

Produced by Terence Blanchard & Robin Burgess

“The weight of being is measured in Absences. Consider what’s held between the lingering stares of heavy-hearted eyes, the pulses beating when words are left unsaid, or restless palms desperate to meet again. We are prone to losing grace in absence. We meander from ourselves, lose track of incorporeal tethers, uncertain to be grounded again. A year and some change in absence of each other while feeling the same things makes for quite the emotional conundrum. But absence is kin to zero in that they pine after absolute grace. It’s easy to figure that we don’t measure up. Or that carrying ourselves through a day is all that we can manage. Or that deep breaths are a luxury. The reality is the distance between one another is a straight line. Wayne Shorter is known to bestow grace upon us when we are restless in absence.”—Jordan Blanchard

Follow Terence Blanchard:

Website • Facebook • Twitter • Instagram

Blue Note Records

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

The Temptations Releases New Single "Is It Gonna Be Yes Or No" feat. Smokey Robinson | LISTEN & WATC...
Brian Culbertson Releases New Album “The Trilogy, Part 1: Red” | LISTEN to New Single "Feel The Love...
Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Release Highly Anticipated New Collaboration Album "Jonny x Mali: L...
Nigerian Songstress Seyi Shay Releases New Song for Peace "Spread Love" | LISTEN!
Flautist Jef Kearns to Drop New Single "I Want'a Do Something Freaky to You" on Oct. 22nd, 2021
NEW VOICES! Singer Sweet Allyson Releases New Single "Anchor In (Come to Jesus)" | LISTEN!
Singer Steve Tyrell to Release New Album "Shades of Ray" on Sept. 24th, 2021 | LISTEN to New Single ...
Singer Tony Hightower to Release New Jazz Influenced Album "Legacy" on Nov. 5th, 2021
Tony Dickerson & The Essential Band Releases New Single "I Am Good" | LISTEN! New EP "The Song Withi...
Producer Regi Matrix Releases New Single "It's a Vibe" Feat. Ty Juan and Shawdella | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Christian McBride & Inside Straight to Release New Album "Live at the Village Vanguard" on Nov. 26th...
Posthumous New Album "Chick Corea Akoustic Band LIVE" (2-CD Set) to be Released on Sept. 24th, 2021 ...
Contemporary Jazz Guitarist Ray Obiedo to Release New Album "Latin Jazz Project, Vol. 2" on Sept. 24...
Fusion Band Soul Café Returns with New Album "Step Aside" on Oct. 15th, 2021 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
NEW VOICES! Gospel Singer Tia Rachelle Releases New Single "Sufficient Grace" | LISTEN!
Pastor Alonzo G. Morris Presents New Single "I Feel Loved" feat Jessica Reedy | LISTEN!
Contemporary Jazz Flutist Ragan Whiteside Scores 7th Consecutive Billboard Top 10 Record
Soul Singer Kari R. Taylor Releases New Single "I'm Moving Up" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Blue Note Records to Release Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers "First Flight to Tokyo: The Lost 1961 ...
Jazz Saxophonist Kirk Whalum Releases New Holiday Project "How Does Christmas Sound?" | LISTEN!
NEW VOICES! Vocalist Avery Raquel Releases New R&B Single "Helpless" | LISTEN!
Singer Joshua Henry Releases Debut Album "Grow" | LISTEN to New Single "Stand Up"!
Drummer Johnathan Blake to Release New Blue Note Debut Album "Homeward Bound" on Oct. 29th, 2021 | L...
Contemporary Jazz Guitarist Richard Smith to Release New Single "Soul Share" feat. Saxophonist Richa...
Singer Joy Denalane Releases Project "Let Yourself Be Loved - Deluxe Edition" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Skip Marley Releases "Higher Place" 1 Year Anniversary Limited Edition Colored Vinyl on Sept. 10th, ...
NEW VOICES! Gospel Trio T.T.K. Releases New Single "I'll Pray With You" | LISTEN!
Vocalist/Pianist Elise Gabrielle Releases New Single "Reviens à Moi" | LISTEN!
The Wonderful World of Louis Armstrong All Stars to Release New Project "A Gift to Pops" on Oct. 15t...
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases Rendition of “Lift Every Voice and Sing” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Rick James Hit Album "Glow" Available Now as a Digital Deluxe Edition | WATCH VIDEO!
Music Artist/Producer Sonix Releases New Single "Easy Street" feat. Saxophonist Eric Marienthal | LI...
Music Legend Mary Wilson's Classic Dance Single "Red Hot" (The Eric Kupper Remix) is Available NOW |...
Reggae Legend Beres Hammond and Popcaan Release New Single “A Mother’s Love” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Legendary Bassist Stanley Clarke Honored With National Endowment for the Arts’ 2022 Jazz Masters Fel...
Jazz Guitarist dee Brown to Release New Album "Deep Secrets" on Sept. 3rd, 2021 | LISTEN to New Sing...
Singer Lisa Bellamy Releases New Single "In This House" feat. William Fluker | LISTEN!
Jazz Vocalist Irene Jalenti to Release New Album "Dawn" on Oct. 29th, 2021 | WATCH VIDEO!
Lionel Richie Partners with Tyra Banks' SMiZE Cream To Launch Exciting New Flavor
Singer Monique DeBose Releases New Album "You Are The Sovereign One" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *