Rhino Records Celebrates The 40th Anniversary Of The Time with A 2-LP Deluxe Expanded Edition of Self-Titled Debut “The Time” – Coming July 16th, 2021 | WATCH VIDEO!

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Rhino Records Celebrates The 40th Anniversary Of The Time With A 2-LP Deluxe Expanded Edition Of Their Classic Self-Titled Debut The Time

Newly Upgraded HD Music Video For Mega-Popular Single “Cool” Out Now

LOS ANGELES (PRWEB) JUNE 25, 2021 – It has been four decades since The Time burst onto the Minneapolis music scene, releasing their eponymous record, which still stands out as a landmark in funk today. Lead singer Morris Day merged his talents with the creativity and vision of none other than Prince to create a new sound that fused soul, funk, dance, rock and roll, and what came to be known as the ‘Minneapolis sound.’ Originally released on July 29, 1981, the album was written, produced, and arranged almost entirely by Prince under the pseudonym Jamie Starr.

In celebration of the album’s 40th anniversary, Rhino will release an Expanded Edition created from the original analog tapes and is available as a 2- LP red and white set and features several alternate takes of the six main album tracks. The digital version was remastered under the supervision of Morris Day. Both will be available July 16 and are available for pre-order now. Also, out today is a newly upgraded HD music video their mega-popular single “Cool.” Which is available by going here: https://Rhino.lnk.to/TheTime40

“When I was a young teen growing up in Minneapolis, all I ever wanted to do was be in a band and play my drums,” says Day. “Never in a million years did imagine 40 years later, that my band “The Time,” would be consider funk royalty. To some, 40 years in this business is considered a lifetime. To me, I’ve only just begun. Stay Tuned. Yeesss!!”

Known for their live performances, The Time introduced the world to Morris Day on vocals and as an energetic front-man. Day quickly became a pop-culture icon from his scene-stealing performances in the genre-defining film Purple Rain, which also showcased the touring band: inventors of New Jack Swing, Jimmy Jam (keyboard and vocals) and Terry Lewis (Bass), and Jellybean Johnson (Drums and Percussion), Jesse Johnson (guitar and vocals), and Monte Moir (keyboards and vocals).

Minneapolis in the ’80s ushered in a new era for funk and urban disco, and The Time was in the center of it all. The group remains current and influential and shows no signs of losing any funk and energy 40 years later. Songs like “Cool,” “Get it Up,” and “Girl” charted in the Top 10 of the R&B charts, and their influence on R&B and pop music sound continues to be heard in the music of generations of artists and musicians that came after them, proving that great music will always stand the test of time.

The Time: The Time (Expanded Edition)
Track Listing:

Side One:
1. “Get It Up”
2. “Girl”
3. “After Hi School”
4. “Cool”
5. “Oh, Baby”
6. “The Stick”
7. “Get It Up (Single Edit”
8. “Girl (Edit)”
9. “Cool (Part 1)”
10. “Cool (Part II)”
11. “After Hi School (Single Edit)”
12. “The Stick (Single Edit)”

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Singer Gregory Porter to Release New Double Album "Still Rising" on Nov. 5th, 2021 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Jazz-Soul Singer China Moses Releases New EP "China Moses & The Vibe Tribe" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gospel Artist E. Dewey Smith's "God Period" Scores #1 Current Gospel Album Sales on Billboard
Capitol Records to Release "A Sentimental Christmas with Nat "King" Cole and Friends: Cole Classics ...
Gospel Singer Algeron Wright to Release New Album "Heart and Soul" on Oct. 29th, 2021
Singer Kenny Lattimore to Release New Album "Here To Stay" on Dec. 3rd, 2021 | LISTEN to New Single ...
R&B Singer Eric Roberson Releases New Single "Lessons" (Remix) feat. Anthony Hamilton, Raheem DeVaug...
NEW VOICES! Singer-Songwriter MILCK Debuts New Single “Steady As We Go” | LISTEN!
Gospel Singer Damon Little Releases Official Video for Single "Stand Up"
Innervision Records Announces Signing of Vocalist Erin Stevenson | New Album Coming in Early 2022!
Gospel Singer Stephanie Summers Releases New Album "Mighty Strong God" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Legend John Coltrane's "A Love Supreme: Live In Seattle" is Available NOW | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Artist José James Releases New Christmas Song “Christmas in New York” | LISTEN!
Blues Legend Eric Gales to Release New Album "Crown" on Jan. 28th, 2022 | WATCH NEW VIDEO! Announces...
Kierra Sheard feat. Karen Clark Sheard's Hit Single "Something Has To Break" Garners Double #1's on ...
DARE Records Presents New Holiday EP "A Countdown to Christmas" (Reissue) | LISTEN!
Soul Singer Freewill to Release New Single "Love Ain't" on Oct. 22nd, 2021 | LISTEN!
Terence Blanchard's 'Fire Shut Up in My Bones' to be Presented Live in Cinemas on Oct. 23rd, 2021
Gospel-Reggae Singer Samuel Suh Releases New Single "Strengthener" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Peloton x Beyoncé Return With Largest Artist Series Ever | Launching Oct. 19th, 2021
Brian McKnight Releases New Single "Faithfully" | LISTEN!
Singer Keb' Mo' to Release New Album "Good To Be" on Jan. 21st, 2022 | WATCH New Video for Single "G...
Jazz Vocalist Nicole Henry Releases New Project "Time to Love Again" | LISTEN!
Inspirational Singer De'Leon Releases New Album "Life Is..." | LISTEN to New Single "Life is Better"...
R&B Singer Antoine Dunn's New Single "Lose It All" Breaks Billboard R&B Top 40 Charts
Singer Renee Spearman's New Single "I Got God" is Billboard's Most Added Song | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Group Pieces of a Dream Returns with New Project "Fired Up!" on Oct. 15th, 2021 | LISTEN to Tit...
Technics Announces Collaboration with R&B Artist Leon Bridges
Music Legend Billy Preston's Classic Project "Encouraging Words" to be Reissued on Vinyl Oct. 29th, ...
Saxophonist Arnan Raz & Drummer Pablo Eluchans Release New 3-Track EP “Pal Viento” | LISTEN!
NEW VOICES! Singer Dana Williams Releases Official Music Video for New Single "Let Me"
Marvin Gaye's Classic LP "What’s Going On" (50th Anniversary 2LP Edition) Arrives Dec. 3rd, 2021
Keith Sweat Releases New Single "Can't Nobody" feat. Raheem DeVaughn | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Paul Taylor to Release New Project "AND NOW THIS" on Nov. 5th, 2021 | LISTEN!
Neo-Soul/Gospel Singer Cynthia Jones Releases New Music Video for "Ain't No Half Steppin"
Blues Singer Dexter Allen Releases Official Music Video for Single "Keep Moving On"
Gospel Ensemble Trevone Perry & Team DP Releases New Single "Alright Alright" | LISTEN!
5 Most Remarkable Female Jazz Singers
Tiffany Bynoe Releases Official Music Video for Single "Closer & Closer" feat. Guitarist Tim Bowman ...
Jazz Singer José James to Release New Album "Merry Christmas from José James” on Nov. 19th, 2021 | L...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *