R&B Group The Suffers Release New Single “Take Me To The Good Times” | LISTEN!

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

The Suffers Release Powerful Plea
“Take Me To The Good Times”

The Gulf Coast Soul Group’s First Single Since Their 2018 Critically-Acclaimed Sophomore Album Everything Here

June 24, 2020: Today, The eight-piece Houston-based soul, funk and R&B group The Suffers return with a soulful plea to “Take Me To The Good Times.” The single is their first since the release of their acclaimed 2018 album Everything Here.

“A little over two months ago, life as we knew it came to a halt. Our tours were cancelled, and the world as we knew it changed,” explains Kam Franklin. “As a band, we honestly thought that last year would be the hardest we’ve ever had to push through. It brought us the loss of our two founding members, our trailer, and 40k worth of instruments getting stolen, on top of all the other ups and downs life has to offer. Through all of that, we chose to enter the recording studio last fall with our head held high, knowing that bigger things were on the horizon. This song is a reward to us for the hard work we put in, but it also serves as a love letter to the road, while offering a promise to return back to it. I only had time to shout out just a few of the cities we can’t wait to visit or go back to, but I could have kept going and going. The last 5 years of touring have taken us to some of the most incredible places. We put a lot of love into this one, and we hope that love is felt as it comes through your speakers. We love you, and we can’t wait to come back and play in your city.”

“While releasing music during the current state of the world feels strange, it’s absolutely necessary. To us, Black Lives have always mattered, but as the rest of the world begins to learn and understand this, we will continue doing what we do best. Leading, listening, and creating with love. June is black music month. June is when we celebrate Juneteenth, and after sharing this song with all you, June will hold yet another special memory for us. A memory where we pushed through it all to deliver a little piece of joy to the masses. We encourage you to donate to this list of Black trans-led organizations compiled by Brittany Packnett Cunningham.”

“Take Me To The Good Times” was written by The Suffers, Steve Watkins (Allen Stone) and Moorea Masa (KD Lang / Moorea Masa and The Mood). The song was engineered and mixed by Matt Pence at The Echo Lab studio in Denton, TX and was produced by Pence, Jason Burt and The Suffers: Kam Franklin (vocals), Kevin Bernier (guitar), Michael Razo (trombone), Jon Durbin (trumpet) Nick Zamora (drums), Jose “Chapy” Luna (percussion), Juliet Terrill (bass) and Travis Thompson (piano).

Over the years, the Gulf Coast Soul group has toured with Thievery Corporation, Galactic, and Lake Street Dive, and has performed at Newport Folk Fest, Austin City Limits, Afropunk, Xponential Music Festival, and NPR’s Tiny Desk. The band’s sophomore album Everything Here was met with critical acclaim.

Credit: Patty Lennon


Missing Piece Group

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

KHVN Dallas to Air "The Marvin Sapp Radio Show" on Saturdays | Starting July 11th, 2020
Producer Brennan Williams Releases New Single "Black Man" | LISTEN!
Songstress Sevana Releases New Music Video for "If Only You Knew" | New EP "Be Somebody" Arrives Jul...
Singer Lamont Dozier, Jr. Releases New Singles “Why Can’t We Be Lovers” & ”I’m Gonna Take My Time” |...
Gospel Legend Betty Griffin Keller Returns with Single "So Much To Thank God For"
Singer Kipper Jones Releases New Single "Wishing On A Star" | LISTEN!
British Singer Sheyi Releases Music Video for ‘Stronger’ | WATCH!
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New EP "Intercession" | LISTEN to New Single "Let It Fall (Live)"!
Ralph Tresvant Releases New Single "All Mine" feat. Johnny Gill | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Group 112 to Release New Single "Spend It All" on July 24th | New EP "112 FORVER: Slim & Mike" C...
Lila Iké Releases New Music Video for "Forget Me" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Music Video for "Rose Rouge" | WATCH NOW!
New Official Music Video for Bob Marley's "No Woman No Cry" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Michael Stuckey to Release New Album "Live in Ghana" on July 3rd, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Chelsey Green and The Green Project to Release New EP "ReEnvisioned" on July 27th, 2020
R&B Singer J. Brown Releases New Ballad "Hopelessly In Love" | LISTEN!
Music Legend Charlie Wilson Releases New Video for Single "One I Got" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Mister Holland" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Travis Greene Releases New Collection "Love Playlist"
Pianist Gerald Clayton Releases New Single "A Light" | LISTEN! | New Album Drops July 10th, 2020
Latin Jazz Artist John Santos to Release New Album "Art of the Descarga" on Aug. 7th, 2020
Singer Louise Golbey Releases New Single "Scarlet Woman" | LISTEN!
UK Funk Band The Haggis Horns Releases New Album "Stand Up For Love" | Listen to New Single "Haggis ...
Mali Music Releases Live Performance of "Let Go" for Vevo Ctrl | WATCH!
Singer Darius Scott Releases New Single "Big Brave Man" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Billy Childs to Release New Album "Acceptance" on Aug. 28th, 2020
Keyboardist Al Degregoris Releases New Album "Time Sensitive" | LISTEN to New Single "Cookie Jar"!
Hillsong Worship and Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New Single "Awake My Soul" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO!
Sax Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Other Side Of The Pillow" - LISTEN! | New Album Drops J...
Greyboy Allstars Announce 1st New Record In 7 Years "Como De Allstars" - Coming July 3rd, 2020 | LIS...
Singer Tony Walk Releases New Single "Love Won't Let Me Wait" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Robert Copeland Releases New Album "That Jesus Feelin'" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Si...
R&B Singer Avant to Release Anticipated New Album "Can We Fall In Love" on July 10th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Marvin Sapp Releases New Single "Thank You For It All" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Michael Silverman to Release New Album "Human Spirit" with Jeff Lorber on July 15th, 2020 | ...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Kim Waters' Entire New Album “Shakedown” from Now til June 1...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *