Pianist Bob Baldwin to Release 31st New Album “Henna” on Feb. 7th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single “Long Weekend (See You on Tuesday)” Feat. Ragan Whiteside!

Award Winning Pianist/Arranger Bob Baldwin Expands Career Into 5 Decades With 31st Album Release, ‘Henna’ (Release Date 2/7/20)

Radio Host of the NewUrbanJazz Lounge and Owner of 26 Recorded Masters Continues to Stress Catalog Ownership In light of Fellow Artisans Failing to do Same (Stop Signing off on Front-Loaded Record Deals).

NEW YORK, February 3, 2020 (Newswire.com) – Bob Baldwin‘s latest release is called “Henna” and it’s an organic expression of his music, but it’s also an expression of creative control, a path he credits his longevity to. The Radio Host of the award-winning International weekly NewUrbanJazz Radio program shares his thoughts.

“I’ve seen a lot of artists come and go,” says the Mt. Vernon, New York Native. “People seem to flame out quick in this industry, but the real victory is finishing the race.”

Another lesson the 11-time SESAC Composer Award-winner wishes to teach is that of ownership. “In the Ray Charles movie, ‘Ray’, there’s a five-minute scene of him sitting across from the label president demanding creative control AND ownership of the records. Not only did the Label agree, he also received an advance for the production. Brilliant move, but unfortunately, for every Ray Charles success story, you have thousands of other artist horror stories (like Toni Braxton, TLC) who made business secondary, soon after watching career and life spiral into the ozone. It’s a horror story I’d like to see less of. Some of them should call me direct because I could really give some very good sound advice,” laughs Baldwin.

Musically speaking, Bob Baldwin’s 31st offering is a natural feeling. Tracks feature his NY-based band of 30 years with Dave Anderson (b), Tony Lewis, (d), and Café Da Silva (p). Also included is the newly remixed “Club Life”, which features an unprecedented 10-plus solos on one track, with Tom Browne (t), Marion Meadows (s), Lori Williams (v), Ragan Whiteside (fl), Oli Silk (k), U-Nam (g), Nils (g), Brooke Alford (v), Walter Beasley (s), Rohn Lawrence (g), Barry Danielian (t), Marcus Anderson (s). Baldwin makes the entourage flow seamless, making it a contemporary jazz classic for the century.

The only vocal track on the disc features Washington, D.C. vocalist, the aforementioned Williams, appearing on “No Longer Lost,” a Stevie-type throwback track with a simple pop edge seen through the jazz lens of Baldwin that has a retro – Quincy Jones (one of his childhood favorites) vibe.


01 – I Heard You Twice (The First Time)
02 – In the Print
01 – Sorry (Not Sorry)
02 – Henna
03 – Food for Thought
04 – A Brazilian Love Affair
05 – No Longer Lost (featuring Lori Williams)
06 – Long Weekend (See You on Tuesday) (f/ Ragan Whiteside)
07 – Keep Movin’
08 – Club Life (f/ Various Artists)
09 – Fly Breeze (f/ J Fly & Ragan Whiteside)
10 – In the Moment (Extended Version)
11- Club Life (Radio Version)
12 – Long Weekend (See You on Tuesday) (Radio)

Source: City Sketches Records

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

R&B/Soul Singer Eric Roberson Offers Fans A Surprise 10 Song Impromptu Album - "Here To Here"!
Qwest TV Offering 30-Day Free Trial to New Users Throughout Quarantine Period
George Benson Releases Single "Give Me The Night (Live)" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Rexy* Releases New Music Video for "How You Feel" | WATCH!
Brian McKnight Releases New Music Video for Single "Nobody" | WATCH! New Album "Exodus" Arrives June...
Ben Tankard's Single "Passionfruit" Reaches #1 Most Added on Billboard's Smooth Jazz Chart
"Let’s Go Crazy: The GRAMMY Salute To Prince" to Air on CBS - April 21st, 2020
Blues Artist Rev. John Lee Hooker, Jr Releases New Single "Testify" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO!
R&B Singer Noel Gourdin Releases New Single "Lovin' Up (You)" | LISTEN!
Pianist Christian Sands to Release New Album "Be Water" on July 17th, 2020
Singer Jonathan Emile Releases New Single "Solidarité" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Blue Note Records to Release Never-Before-Released Album by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - "Just...
Singer Earnest Pugh to Release New Music Video for "God Wants To Heal You" on March 25th, 2020
Singer Avehre Releases New Single "No Purpose" | LISTEN! | New EP Coming Soon
FKAjazz Releases New EP "Lineage" | LISTEN!
Marlon McClain to Release New EP "Funky Fridays, Vol. 1" on March 27th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single ...
Dee Dee Bridgewater Announced as Detroit Jazz Festival's 2020 Artist-in-Residence
Songstress Jemila Richardson to Release New Album "Ten Miles Away" on March 20th, 2020
Pianist Orrin Evans and the Captain Black Big Band to Release New Album "The Intangible Between" on ...
Travis Greene Releases New VEVO Live Video for Single "Good And Loved" feat. Doe | WATCH!
R&B Songstress Tisha-Monique Releases New Single "Leave Your Mind" on March 30th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Singer Shonda English Releases New Single "While Traveling Through" | LISTEN!
Singer Tamika Scott Releases New Single "Go Outside In The Rain" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Singer Gregory Porter Announces 2020 U.S. Headline Tour
Titus Showers Releases Remix of "It's Gonna Be Alright" feat. Jermaine Dolly
Blue Engine Records to Release "Rock Chalk Suite" by The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynto...
Legendary Pianist Bob James' Unreleased Album "Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessi...
Concord Jazz to Release "Ella 100: Live At The Apollo!" on April 24th, 2020
Singer Lindsey Webster Releases New Album "A Woman Like Me" on March 27th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Sing...
Jazz Group Butcher Brown Releases New Single "Tidal Wave" - LISTEN! Announces New Tour for 2020
VIDEO PREMIERE!! ABC Records to Release Album "5 YEARS OF MODERN FUNK" on March 27th, 2020 | WATCH N...
Singer Carl Brister Returns with New Single "L.O.V.E. (What The World Needs)" - LISTEN! | Coming in ...
Mascot Label Group Announces New Funk Label, "The Funk Garage" | Bootsy Collins In Special Role
The Clark Sisters to Release New Album "The Return" on March 13th, 2020
National Museum of African American Music Announces Grand Opening Date of Sept. 3rd, 2020
R&B Singer K'Jon Releases New Single "Live, Love & Laughter" | LISTEN!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *