Bassist/Composer Matthew Snow Releases New Album “Iridescence”

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Matthew Snow’s Debut Recording Iridescence Introduces An Important Young Jazz Bassist And Composer

A talented young bassist and composer who is based in New York, Matthew Snow debuts both his inventive jazz sextet and eight of his original songs on Iridescence. On a set of new material that ranges from cooking hard bop to moody ballads, Snow features a combo filled with up-and-coming talents. The bassist is joined by the relaxed yet fluent trombonist David Gibson, altoist Clay Lyons (who has a joyous style a bit reminiscent at times of Cannonball Adderley), vibraphonist Joe Doubleday, guitarist Daisuke Abe, and the quietly tasteful drummer Wayne Smith. The unusual instrumentation (a hard bop group without trumpet, tenor or piano) and the original melodies and chord changes give listeners a fresh spin on the straight ahead jazz tradition.

While Snow is an impressive bassist, he resides himself to a supportive role on Iridescence, just taking a brief solo on “Bouyantly Bliss” and instead putting the emphasis on his warm melodies and the creative playing of his sidemen.

The attractive group sound and its beautiful harmonies (with a memorable blend by alto and trombone) is very much in evidence on the opening “Amber Glow.” “Blitz” and “The Change Agent” give the musicians opportunities to make statements on uptempo pieces while “Jealousy” (which concludes with a surprising high-note trombone cadenza) is a bit funky. Trombonist Gibson is particularly well featured on the moody ballad “Brood” and the introspective closer “Venus.” Other Snow pieces include a swinging “The Exit Strategy” and the nostalgic “Bouyantly Bliss.” It would not be surprising if several of these pieces became standards in the future.

Matthew Snow, who has been an increasingly significant part of the New York jazz scene for the past seven years, seems destined to become as well-known as a composer as he is a bassist. Iridescence is an important step forward in his career and will delight fans of modern straight ahead jazz.

Matthew Snow’s
Iridescence CD Release Party
Saturday, December 7th
8:30 – 11:30 pm (3 sets 45 mins each)
There’s no cover charge. One Drink Minimum.
at Domaine Wine Bar
5004 Vernon Blvd
Long Island City, NY 11101
(718) 784-2350

Matthew Snow – Bass
Clay Lyons – Alto Sax
Marko Churnchetz – Piano
Andreu Pitarch- Drums

Release Date: NOVEMBER 29, 2019
UPC Code: 888295937962

Track listing


Musicians: Matthew Snow – Bass/Composer,

David Gibson – Trombone, Clay Lyons – Alto Saxophone, Joe Doubleday – Vibraphone, Daisuke Abe – Guitar, Wayne Smith – Drums

AVAILABLE FROM: Amazon •CDBaby •iTunes

Artist Website:

Jazz Promo Services

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Singer Tony Hightower to Release New Jazz Influenced Album "Legacy" on Nov. 5th, 2021
Tony Dickerson & The Essential Band Releases New Single "I Am Good" | LISTEN! New EP "The Song Withi...
Producer Regi Matrix Releases New Single "It's a Vibe" Feat. Ty Juan and Shawdella | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Christian McBride & Inside Straight to Release New Album "Live at the Village Vanguard" on Nov. 26th...
Posthumous New Album "Chick Corea Akoustic Band LIVE" (2-CD Set) to be Released on Sept. 24th, 2021 ...
Contemporary Jazz Guitarist Ray Obiedo to Release New Album "Latin Jazz Project, Vol. 2" on Sept. 24...
Fusion Band Soul Café Returns with New Album "Step Aside" on Oct. 15th, 2021 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
NEW VOICES! Gospel Singer Tia Rachelle Releases New Single "Sufficient Grace" | LISTEN!
Pastor Alonzo G. Morris Presents New Single "I Feel Loved" feat Jessica Reedy | LISTEN!
Contemporary Jazz Flutist Ragan Whiteside Scores 7th Consecutive Billboard Top 10 Record
Soul Singer Kari R. Taylor Releases New Single "I'm Moving Up" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Blue Note Records to Release Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers "First Flight to Tokyo: The Lost 1961 ...
Jazz Saxophonist Kirk Whalum Releases New Holiday Project "How Does Christmas Sound?" | LISTEN!
NEW VOICES! Vocalist Avery Raquel Releases New R&B Single "Helpless" | LISTEN!
Singer Joshua Henry Releases Debut Album "Grow" | LISTEN to New Single "Stand Up"!
Drummer Johnathan Blake to Release New Blue Note Debut Album "Homeward Bound" on Oct. 29th, 2021 | L...
Contemporary Jazz Guitarist Richard Smith to Release New Single "Soul Share" feat. Saxophonist Richa...
Singer Joy Denalane Releases Project "Let Yourself Be Loved - Deluxe Edition" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Skip Marley Releases "Higher Place" 1 Year Anniversary Limited Edition Colored Vinyl on Sept. 10th, ...
NEW VOICES! Gospel Trio T.T.K. Releases New Single "I'll Pray With You" | LISTEN!
Vocalist/Pianist Elise Gabrielle Releases New Single "Reviens à Moi" | LISTEN!
The Wonderful World of Louis Armstrong All Stars to Release New Project "A Gift to Pops" on Oct. 15t...
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases Rendition of “Lift Every Voice and Sing” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Rick James Hit Album "Glow" Available Now as a Digital Deluxe Edition | WATCH VIDEO!
Music Artist/Producer Sonix Releases New Single "Easy Street" feat. Saxophonist Eric Marienthal | LI...
Music Legend Mary Wilson's Classic Dance Single "Red Hot" (The Eric Kupper Remix) is Available NOW |...
Reggae Legend Beres Hammond and Popcaan Release New Single “A Mother’s Love” | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Legendary Bassist Stanley Clarke Honored With National Endowment for the Arts’ 2022 Jazz Masters Fel...
Jazz Guitarist dee Brown to Release New Album "Deep Secrets" on Sept. 3rd, 2021 | LISTEN to New Sing...
Singer Lisa Bellamy Releases New Single "In This House" feat. William Fluker | LISTEN!
Jazz Vocalist Irene Jalenti to Release New Album "Dawn" on Oct. 29th, 2021 | WATCH VIDEO!
Lionel Richie Partners with Tyra Banks' SMiZE Cream To Launch Exciting New Flavor
Singer Monique DeBose Releases New Album "You Are The Sovereign One" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Singer Stokley to Release Highly Anticipated New Sophomore Album "SANKOFA" on Sept. 17th, 2021
R&B Girl Group The Shindellas to Release Debut Album "Hits That Stick Like Grits" on Sept. 12th, 202...
Drummer Makaya McCraven to Release New Remix Album "Deciphering The Message" on Nov. 19th, 2021 | LI...
Gospel Singer Lucinda Moore to Release New Single "Lord, I Hear You" on Sept. 17th, 2021 | WATCH NEW...
Anthony Hamilton to Perform Live on Aug. 28th, 2021 for the 'His Love Is Amazing Movement' Community...
Neo-Soul/Gospel Singer Cynthia Jones Releases New Single "Ain't No Half Steppin" | LISTEN!
Reggae/R&B Singer Medisun Releases Uplifting New Single "Speak Love" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *