Jazz Singer Amber Weekes to Release New Album “Pure Imagination” on Jan. 3rd, 2020 | LISTEN!

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Los Angeles-Based Jazz Singer
Amber Weekes Performs Warm Versions
Of Some Of Her Favorite Standards
On Pure Imagination

Amber Weekes a regular fixture on the Los Angeles jazz scene, displays a quietly emotional voice and a creative use of space that is a bit reminiscent of Shirley Horn. Pure Imagination teams the singer with such notable musicians (all of whom are featured) as guitarists Mitchell Long and Ramon Stagnaro, flutist Justo Almario, altoist Keith Fiddmont, baritonist Dale Fielder, violinist-arranger Mark Cargill, vibraphonist Nick Mancini and bassist Trevor Ware.

The set begins with a playful version of “Pure Imagination” that has Amber Weekes interacting with her longtime teacher, the great Sue Raney. “It’s All Right With Me” is a swinger that has Ms. Weekes contributing a fetching vocal while on “When He Makes Music” her soft vocal is filled with inner passion.The masterful lyricist Oscar Brown Jr. is represented by the cautionary tale “The Snake,” a beautiful rendition of “Brown Baby” (taken as a duet with Trevor Ware’s mostly bowed bass) and a spirited and high-powered version of “Mister Kicks.” Amber Weekes revives the swing era Benny Goodman hit “Gotta Be This Or That,” “After You’ve Gone” and Duke Ellington’s lightly swinging “Just Squeeze Me.” She takes Michel Legrand and the Bergmans’ “The Way He Makes Me Feel” as a heartfelt ballad duet with Mon David (one of Los Angeles’ top male jazz singers) and joins in with the Bucjump Brass Band for Paul Simon’s “Gone At Last” which is given an infectious 1950s New Orleans “Second Line” groove. In addition, Amber Weekes performs two versions of “When October Goes” (a Johnny Mercer set of lyrics that was given music posthumously by Barry Manilow), very effectively interpreting the song as a bossa nova and a ballad.

While Amber Weekes was born Los Angeles, Amber’s parents were raised in Harlem, where her paternal grandparents ran Weekes’ Luncheonette; among its customers were Duke Ellington, Diahann Carroll, Billy Strayhorn, Lena Horne, Sidney Poitier, and Harry Belafonte. She began singing as a child and considers her early influences to include Diahann Carroll, Nancy Wilson, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, and Lena Horne. She studied voice with Phil Moore, Catherine Hansen, Sue Fink and Sue Raney. Amber Weekes has performed at many of Los Angeles’ top clubs in addition to the New Rochelle Jazz Festival in New York and Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas. Now with the release of Pure Imagination, her finest recording to date, Amber Weekes can be heard at the peak of her creative powers.

Release Date: JANUARY 3, 2020
UPC Code: 0 51497 12269 0

Track listing

1. Pure Imagination (Duet with Sue Raney) – 3:45 (Anthony Newley & Leslie Bricusse)
2. It’s All Right with Me – 3:26 (Cole Porter)
3. When He Makes Music – 4:26 (Marvin Fisher & Jack Segal)
4. The Snake – 4:42 (Oscar Brown, Jr.)
5. Gotta Be This or That – 2:51 (Sunny Skylar)
6. Brown Baby – 5:54 (Oscar Brown, Jr.)
7. After You’ve Gone – 2:12 (Henry Creamer, Ray Sherman, Turner Layton)
8. When October Goes – 4:21 (Barry Manilow & Johnny Mercer)-(Bossa)
9. Mister Kicks – 2:35 (Oscar Brown, Jr.)
10. The Way He Makes Me Feel (duet with Mon David) – 4:53 (Legrand, Bergman, Bergman)
11. Just Squeeze Me (But Don’t Tease Me) – 2:46 (Duke Ellington & Leonard Gaines)
12. Gone At Last – 4:14 (Paul Simon)
13. Bonus Track: ● When October Goes – 5:21 (Barry Manilow & Johnny Mercer) (Ballad)


Pianists: Peter Smith and Tony Copodonico, Bassists: Trevor Ware (also co-producer) and Jeff Littleton, Drummers: Charles Ruggiero and Nathaniel ScottSaxophonist: Keith Fiddmont, Trumpeters: Curtis Taylor and Scotty Barnhart, Violinist, String Arranger/Conductor and Co-Producer: Mark Cargill Percussionist: Munyungo Jackson.

AVAILABLE FROM: amberweekes.com

Jazz Promo Services

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Boney James To Release New Single “Full Effect” on Aug. 17th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Tauren Wells and Kirk Franklin Releases New Single "Millionaire (Good Like That)" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Urban Legends to Release Episode 2 "Funky President" From Animated Mini-Series 'Get Down, The Influe...
Bill Moss, Jr. & the B.M.E State Choir Releases New Single "Testimony of Praise" feat. J. Moss | LIS...
Singer Gloria Loring to Release Anticipated New EP "The Best of Me" on Sept 18th, 2020 | LISTEN to T...
R&B Singer Tony Walk Releases Rendition of Classic "Turn Your Love Around" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! | New ...
Guitarist Blake Aaron to Release New Album "Color and Passion" on Sept. 18th, 2020 | LISTEN to New S...
Keyboardist David Garfield Releases New Single "Sir Charles" feat. Grant Geissman & Brandon Fields |...
Vibraphonist Warren Wolf to Release Holiday Album "Christmas Vibes" on Sept. 18th, 2020
R&B Singer Tony O Releases New Single "Chill In The Air" | LISTEN!
Singer Carl B. Phillips Covers 70's Song "Heaven Help Us All" feat. James Murray & Stephen Anderson ...
Singer Koryn Hawthorne Releases New Single "Speak To Me" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! New Album "I Am" Drops S...
U.K. Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Single "By Any Means" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
R&B Singer RL Bell Releases New Single "Delilah" | LISTEN!
Singer Rachel Eckroth Releases New Single "Perfect Love" ft. Sy Smith | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Bette Smith to Release New Album "The Good, The Bad & The Bette" on Sept. 25th, 2020
R&B Singer Mya is "Totally Down" for a R&B Verzuz Battle
Ricky Dillard Releases New EP "Choirmaster: The Chicago House Music Remixes" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Paul Hardcastle Releases New Album "Hardcastle 9" | LISTEN to New Single "Tropicool"!
Trumpet Great Eddie Henderson to Release New Album "Shuffle and Deal" on July 31st, 2020 | LISTEN to...
Fred Hammond's New Single Reaches #1 on Billboard Gospel Airplay Chart | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gregory Porter to Perform for Launch of NASA's Mars 2020 Mission on July 30th, 2020 | Releases New M...
The Chicago Mass Choir to Release New Album "My Soul Says Yes" on July 31st, 2020 | LISTEN!
Vocalist Danielle Ponder & Karate Boogaloo Release New Single "Look Around' | LISTEN!
Singer Koryn Hawthorne Releases New Single "Pray" | WATCH OFFICIAL NEW VIDEO!
Saxophonist Tony Exum Jr. Releases New Single "Don't Run From Love" feat. Vandell Andrew | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Immanuel Wilkins Releases New Single "Grace And Mercy" - LISTEN! New Album "Omega" Drops...
Gospel Singer Durmond Glanton Releases New Single "Rejoice" | LISTEN!
R&B-Pop Songstress Abrina Releases New Music Video for "Escape" | WATCH!
Lecrae to Release Anticipated New Album "Restoration" on Aug. 21st, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO for "Drow...
Flutist Jef Kearns to Release New EP "Jazzy AF" on Aug. 28th, 2020 | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Nomadic...
Gospel Choir Kenny Lewis & One Voice Releases New Single "Undefeated" | WATCH VIDEO!
R&B Singer Usher Releases Powerful Song "I Cry" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Reggae Artist Protoje Releases New Single "Same So" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Black Pumas Releases New EP "The Electric Deluxe Sessions (Amazon Original)" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz/Funk Trumpeter Takuya Kuroda To Release New Album "Fly Moon Die Soon" on Sept 18th, 2020 | WATC...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *