James Brown’s “Live At Home With His Bad Self” to be Released on CD, 2LP Vinyl & Digital Oct. 25th, 2019



Roof-Raising Concert Album Includes Seven Previously Unreleased Performances

LOS ANGELES, Sept. 6, 2019 /PRNewswire/ — The 50th anniversary of James Brown‘s October 1, 1969 homecoming concert in Augusta, Georgia, will be celebrated with the first-ever release of the complete show, newly mixed and including seven never-before-issued performances. Available now for preorder on CD, 2LP vinyl, and digital audio, Live at Home with His Bad Self will be released on October 25 by Republic/UMe.

Preorder James Brown’s Live at Home with His Bad Self and listen to “Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose” now: https://UMe.lnk.to/JBLiveAtHomePR

James Brown’s roof-raising performance at the city’s Bell Auditorium was captured on tape, with the intent to make an album of the show the cornerstone of a move back to his Augusta roots. Live at Home with His Bad Self was scheduled as a 1969 holiday release. But Brown and his band, featuring saxophone legend Maceo Parker and three legendary drummers – Maceo’s brother Melvin, Jabo Starks, Clyde Stubblefield, together for this tour only – soon broke up. Soul Brother No. 1 called in a new, young group, featuring bassist Bootsy Collins, and within a few weeks they recorded the funk anthem “Sex Machine.” With the single flying up the charts and no full-length to promote with it, Brown shelved the planned Live at Home album. He instead produced Sex Machine, a 2LP set released in 1970 that included a portion of the Augusta show.

Now, finally, as James Brown intended: the full Augusta homecoming show with his celebrated 1960s band. Live at Home with His Bad Self is newly mixed from the original analog multi-tracks by Peter A. Barker, whose credits include mixes of live recordings by Jeff Beck, Bonnie Raitt, Babyface, and more. The album’s seven previously unreleased performances include two instrumentals, “Lowdown Popcorn” and “Spinning Wheel,” which were re-cut with canned applause for the Sex Machine release. Also included is Brown’s then-current hit, “World,” performed at the concert with a live vocal over a tape of the studio recording’s instrumental arrangement, an unusual move which Brown explains to the audience, while “There Was A Time” and “Mother Popcorn,” originally heavily edited on Sex Machine, are doubled in length. Other highlights include an actual live rendition of “Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose,” Brown’s influential hit from 1968, a title fans will note appears on the Sex Machine album, but may not be aware that version is a studio re-record.

The CD and 2LP vinyl packages include an essay by Alan Leeds, the GRAMMY®-winning former James Brown tour manager and publicist who is also the album’s co-producer.

James Brown: Live at Home with His Bad Self [2LP vinyl]
Side 1
1. Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud
2. James Brown Thanks and Introduction to “World”*
3. World*
4. Stage Dialogue*
Side 2
1. Lowdown Popcorn*
2. Spinning Wheel*
3. If I Ruled The World
4. Kansas City*
Side 3
1. Introduction to Startime
2. I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door I’ll Get It Myself)
3. I Got The Feelin’*/Licking Stick-Licking Stick
4. Try Me*
5. There Was A Time **
Side 4
1. Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose*
2. It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World
3. Please, Please, Please
4. I Can’t Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
5. Mother Popcorn **

James Brown: Live at Home with His Bad Self [CD; digital]
1. Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud
2. James Brown Thanks and Introduction to “World”*
3. World*
4. Stage Dialogue*
5. Lowdown Popcorn*
6. Spinning Wheel*
7. If I Ruled The World
8. Kansas City*
9. Introduction to Startime
10. I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door I’ll Get It Myself)
11. I Got The Feelin’*/Licking Stick-Licking Stick
12. Try Me*
13. There Was A Time **
14. Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose*
15. It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World
16. Please, Please, Please
17. I Can’t Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
18. Mother Popcorn **

* Previously Unreleased / All other performances, though previously issued in some form, are presented in new mixes, including: ** Extended from track’s original release.

SOURCE Republic/UMe

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Singer Luther Barnes Releases New Single "Look To The Hills" | LISTEN! New Album Drops Spring 2020
Guitarist Lawson Rollins Releases New Album "True North" | LISTEN!
Keyboardist Lisa Addeo's New Single "Listen To This" Reaches #1 on Billboard's Smooth Jazz Chart
Jazz in Pink feat. Gail Jhonson Releases New Single "Joy, Joy" feat. Kim Waters | New Album Coming S...
Reggae Singer Jonathan Emile Releases New Album "Spaces-In-Between" | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Try A ...
Ricky Dillard Releases New Singles "Release" feat. Tiff Joy & “More Abundantly Medley" | WATCH NEW V...
Trumpeter Theo Croker Releases 3-Track EP "Understand Yourself" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
The Temptations Celebrates 60th Anniversary with New U.S. Tour and International Dates 2020
Singer J. Brown Releases New EP "Forever Yours" on Jan. 24th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Moon!"
Vibraphonist Warren Wolf to Release New Album "Reincarnation" on Feb. 28th, 2020
35th Annual Stellar Gospel Awards Nominations Announced | March 27th, 2020 in Las Vegas
Beyoncé And Sony/ATV Music Publishing Sign Global Agreement
Singer Adrian Dunn Releases New Album "Redemption: LIVE" on Feb. 1st, 2020 | Announces Multi City To...
Jacky Clark-Chisholm Releases New Single "Feel Good" feat. Mary J. Blige & Tia P. on Feb. 7th, 2020
Reggae Artist Jah9 to Release 3rd Studio Album "Note To Self" on March 13th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Derrick McDuffey and Kingdom Sound Releases New Single "Heaven" on Jan. 21st, 2020 | LISTEN!
"Ella Fitzgerald: The Complete Piano Duets" (2CD Set/Digital) | Coming March 13th, 2020
Kool & the Gang's Classic Hit "Celebration" Turns 40
Saxophonist Paula Atherton Releases New Single "Can You Feel It" | LISTEN!
Gregory Porter Returns with New Single "Revival" | New Album "All Rise" Coming April 17th, 2020 | An...
Singer Lili Añel Releases New Album "Better Days" | LISTEN!
NEW VOICES! R&B Vocalist MeMe Yashal Releases New Single "Eye Candy" | LISTEN!
Bassist Gregg August to Release New Album "Dialogues on Race, Vol. 1" on March 27th, 2020 | WATCH NE...
Singer ALA.NI Releases New Single "Papa" | WATCH VIDEO! New Album "ACCA" Arrives Jan. 24th, 2020
NEW VOICES! Singer Tatiana Scott Releases New Single "IDCU (I Don’t Choose U)" | LISTEN!
Singer Raheem Devaughn Releases New Music Video for "Love Reunion"
Sekou Andrews Becomes 1st Poet Nominated for "Best Spoken Word Album" Grammy® in 12 Years | WATCH NE...
Music Legend Billy Ocean Releases New Single "One World" | LISTEN!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *