Verve/UMe to Reissue Ella Fitzgerald’s ‘Mack the Knife: Ella In Berlin’ and Jimmy Smith’s ‘Root Down: Jimmy Smith Live!’ on 180-gram Vinyl LPs on June 24th, 2016

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Ella Fitzgerald - Mack The Knife

Verve/UMe to Reissue Ella Fitzgerald’s ‘Mack the Knife: Ella In Berlin’ and Jimmy Smith’s ‘Root Down: Jimmy Smith Live!’ on 180-gram Vinyl LPs

Available June 24 as Part of Verve’s 60th Anniversary Celebration

LOS ANGELES, June 9, 2016 /PRNewswire/ — Verve/UMe is proud to announce, as part of Verve’s 60th anniversary celebration, new vinyl reissues on June 24 for two long unavailable live performance classics by a pair of jazz legends – the peerless Ella Fitzgerald’s Mack The Knife: Ella In Berlin and funk-master Jimmy Smith’s Root Down: Jimmy Smith Live!. Originally released in 1960 and 1972 respectively, the albums display a high level of creativity from a pair of jazz masters. Though serving different audiences, the recordings are linked by exuberance, spontaneity and profound substance, hallmarks of jazz expression.

Recorded in front of an enthusiastic Saturday night audience in Berlin’s Deutschlandhalle, Mack The Knife vividly demonstrates Ella Fitzgerald’s unparalleled improvisational vocal artistry. With her regular quartet at the time – pianist Paul Smith, guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Alfred Middlebrooks and drummer Gus Johnson – the albums swings furiously. While emphasizing as usual the Great American Songbook – “Gone With The Wind,” “The Lady Is A Tramp,” “The Man I Love,” “Summertime,” “Too Darn Hot,” “Misty” and “Lorelei” – Mack The Knife culminates in brilliant, extended excursions on Kurt Weill’s title piece and a breathtaking, scat-singing romp on “How High the Moon.”

Unplanned as a recording, this performance was serendipitously immortalized when Fitzgerald’s manager/producer and visionary Verve label founder Norman Granz allowed WDR, West German Radio, to record and broadcast the performance. The LP was a major hit, peaking at No. 11 on Billboard magazine’s 200 albums chart and becoming a landmark in the legacy of live jazz vocal artistry – the album that, out of many Ella classics, has maintained her undisputed position as the First Lady of Song for more than 80 years since she exploded onto the scene with Chick Webb in 1935.

Jimmy Smith, after almost singlehandedly redefining the Hammond B3 organ as a vital hard-bop instrument in the 1950s, then ushering in the Soul Jazz era a few years later, signed with Verve in 1962. At Granz’s label Smith embarked on several journeys, including a deeper R&B context, remarkable orchestral collaborations with Oliver Nelson and two extraordinary pairings with the legendary guitarist Wes Montgomery. But it was his live performances that captured the unmistakable late-night, down-home aura of the organ joint.

On Root Down: Jimmy Smith Live!, recorded at L.A.’s Bombay Bicycle Club, Smith is surrounded by a stellar ensemble of musicians who ably straddled the worlds of classic jazz and blues and contemporary funk and rock. All heavily in-demand, first-call players for both recording and touring, they played with a veritable who’s who of top R&B/Soul/Jazz artists including Marvin Gaye, Diana Ross, the Jackson 5, Isley Brothers, Herbie Hancock and Les McCann. With guitarist Arthur Adams, electric bassist Wilton Felder (at the time also the saxophonist in the Crusaders), drummer Paul Humphrey, percussionist Buck Clarke and Steve Williams on harmonica, the band and Smith dive into a smoking deep-funk groove.

Root Down revitalized Smith’s reputation as a prime master of jazz funk and became a touchstone for a new generation. Avery Parrish’s iconic 1940 blues “After Hours” and “Let’s Stay Together,” a No. 1 hit for Al Green at the time, both get ultra-funky re-imaginations alongside balladeer Peter Chase’s “Everyone Under the Sun” (written for this album), a couple of Smith compositions based on his sign of Sagittarius – “Sagg Shootin’ His Arrow” and “Slow Down Sagg” – and most notably “Root Down,” which reemerged as a prominent sample on the Beastie Boys’ track of the same name on their 1994 album Ill Communication. Root Down is simultaneously being made available in high-resolution digital audio (192kHz/24-bit and 96kHz/24-bit). (Mack The Knife: Ella In Berlin is currently available in the same high-resolution formats.)

Whether one is a devoted fan of Ella Fitzgerald or Jimmy Smith, exceptional live jazz recordings or just wonderful music, these two albums are a must.

For more information, please visit:


MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Producer Brennan Williams Releases New Single "Black Man" | LISTEN!
Songstress Sevana Releases New Music Video for "If Only You Knew" | New EP "Be Somebody" Arrives Jul...
Singer Lamont Dozier, Jr. Releases New Singles “Why Can’t We Be Lovers” & ”I’m Gonna Take My Time” |...
Gospel Legend Betty Griffin Keller Returns with Single "So Much To Thank God For"
Singer Kipper Jones Releases New Single "Wishing On A Star" | LISTEN!
British Singer Sheyi Releases Music Video for ‘Stronger’ | WATCH!
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New EP "Intercession" | LISTEN to New Single "Let It Fall (Live)"!
Ralph Tresvant Releases New Single "All Mine" feat. Johnny Gill | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Group 112 to Release New Single "Spend It All" on July 24th | New EP "112 FORVER: Slim & Mike" C...
Lila Iké Releases New Music Video for "Forget Me" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Music Video for "Rose Rouge" | WATCH NOW!
New Official Music Video for Bob Marley's "No Woman No Cry" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Michael Stuckey to Release New Album "Live in Ghana" on July 3rd, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Chelsey Green and The Green Project to Release New EP "ReEnvisioned" on July 27th, 2020
R&B Singer J. Brown Releases New Ballad "Hopelessly In Love" | LISTEN!
Music Legend Charlie Wilson Releases New Video for Single "One I Got" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Mister Holland" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Travis Greene Releases New Collection "Love Playlist"
Pianist Gerald Clayton Releases New Single "A Light" | LISTEN! | New Album Drops July 10th, 2020
Latin Jazz Artist John Santos to Release New Album "Art of the Descarga" on Aug. 7th, 2020
Singer Louise Golbey Releases New Single "Scarlet Woman" | LISTEN!
UK Funk Band The Haggis Horns Releases New Album "Stand Up For Love" | Listen to New Single "Haggis ...
R&B Group The Suffers Release New Single "Take Me To The Good Times" | LISTEN!
Mali Music Releases Live Performance of "Let Go" for Vevo Ctrl | WATCH!
Singer Darius Scott Releases New Single "Big Brave Man" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Billy Childs to Release New Album "Acceptance" on Aug. 28th, 2020
Keyboardist Al Degregoris Releases New Album "Time Sensitive" | LISTEN to New Single "Cookie Jar"!
Hillsong Worship and Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New Single "Awake My Soul" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO!
Sax Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Other Side Of The Pillow" - LISTEN! | New Album Drops J...
Greyboy Allstars Announce 1st New Record In 7 Years "Como De Allstars" - Coming July 3rd, 2020 | LIS...
Singer Tony Walk Releases New Single "Love Won't Let Me Wait" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Robert Copeland Releases New Album "That Jesus Feelin'" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Si...
R&B Singer Avant to Release Anticipated New Album "Can We Fall In Love" on July 10th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Marvin Sapp Releases New Single "Thank You For It All" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Michael Silverman to Release New Album "Human Spirit" with Jeff Lorber on July 15th, 2020 | ...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Kim Waters' Entire New Album “Shakedown” from Now til June 1...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *