Reissue Label Friday Music to Release Vinyl Versions of Rock and Soul Classics

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Earth, Wind & Fire - Gratitude


Classic Reissue Label Delivers Audiophile Vinyl Versions of Rock and Soul Classics

April 25, 2016 – New York, NY- Famed reissue label Friday Music is gearing up for a spring full of new releases. The recent announcement of a limited, 3-LP set of David Bowie’s A Reality Tour (coming June 3) is only the tip of the iceberg. Friday Music’s release schedule contains a plethora of albums from some of the most legendary names in rock and soul. All titles have been remastered and reissued on 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Here are some of the highlights. These titles can all be ordered (or pre-ordered, in the case of titles that are not yet available) at

Boz Skaggs Album

Boz Scaggs: The Hits (released 4/15): This 1980 compilation contains music from the most successful period of Boz Scaggs’ career, including the Grammy-winning smash “Lowdown” and the smash hits “Lido Shuffle”, “Miss Sun” and “JoJo”. This reissued version of Hits has been pressed on clear vinyl. 1988’s Other Roads has also been recently released by Friday Music.

Earth Wind & Fire: Gratitude(5/6): Gratitude was Earth, Wind & Fire’s first live album; a 2-record set that collected concert renditions of their biggest hits. It also contained a side of new material, including the future classics “Sing A Song” and “Can’t Hide Love”. Gratitude was certified triple-platinum by the RIAA, and hit #1 on the Billboard Top 200 as well as the R&B Albums chart. This edition of Gratitude is pressed on blue vinyl.

Chicago - 2016

Chicago: Chicago VIII (5/6): Celebrating their recent induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Friday Music is reissuing Chicago VIII. This 1975 album hit #1 on the Billboard Album charts, and included the classics “Harry Truman” and “Old Days”.


CHIC: Chic(5/13): Disco legends Chic have built an enduring legacy of hits, and that legacy began with their 1978 debut album. Widely praised for the songwriting and instrumental prowess of founding members Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, the album contains the smash singles “Everybody Dance” and “Dance Dance Dance (Yowsah Yowsah Yowsah)”.

Carly Simon: Boys In The Trees(5/20): 1978’s Boys In The Trees is most notable for containing the hit single “You Belong To Me”, which was co-written by Michael McDonald and has been remade by Anita Baker, Jennifer Lopez and Chaka Khan, to name a few. The platinum-selling album hit the top 10 on the charts, won a Grammy, and also contains two songs written by Carly’s then-husband, James Taylor. This is the first-time audiophile pressing of Boys In The Trees.

REO Speedwagon: The Hits (6/3): A collection encompassing the work of one of the ’70s and ’80s’ biggest selling rock bands, The Hits contains the #1 classic “Keep On Loving You” as well as “Take It On The Run”, “Roll With The Changes” and more REO hits. This compilation is being made available on translucent clear vinyl.

The above listed platinum plus recording acts remain viable today, whether on the road or in the studio. These limited-edition albums are a testament to the quality of their music as well as their enduring legacies. All titles have been impeccably mastered by Joe Reagoso, and are being issued in gatefold sleeves* with original artwork.

*-Chic is not in a gatefold sleeve.

Friday Music is a premier reissue label, specializing in audiophile versions of classic albums. Their catalog of several hundred albums includes works by such legends as Elvis Presley, David Bowie, Billy Joel, and recent Rock Hall inductees Cheap Trick, Chicago and Deep Purple.

These and other Friday Music titles can be purchased/pre-ordered from the Friday Music website, as well as select online and brick-and-mortar retailers.

Future releases include titles from Heart, Bobby Darin, Johnny Winter and more.

‘Stache Media

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Singer Lamont Dozier, Jr. Releases New Singles “Why Can’t We Be Lovers” & ”I’m Gonna Take My Time” |...
Gospel Legend Betty Griffin Keller Returns with Single "So Much To Thank God For"
Singer Kipper Jones Releases New Single "Wishing On A Star" | LISTEN!
British Singer Sheyi Releases Music Video for ‘Stronger’ | WATCH!
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New EP "Intercession" | LISTEN to New Single "Let It Fall (Live)"!
Ralph Tresvant Releases New Single "All Mine" feat. Johnny Gill | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
R&B Group 112 to Release New Single "Spend It All" on July 24th | New EP "112 FORVER: Slim & Mike" C...
Lila Iké Releases New Music Video for "Forget Me" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Music Video for "Rose Rouge" | WATCH NOW!
New Official Music Video for Bob Marley's "No Woman No Cry" | WATCH NOW!
Singer Michael Stuckey to Release New Album "Live in Ghana" on July 3rd, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Chelsey Green and The Green Project to Release New EP "ReEnvisioned" on July 27th, 2020
R&B Singer J. Brown Releases New Ballad "Hopelessly In Love" | LISTEN!
Music Legend Charlie Wilson Releases New Video for Single "One I Got" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Mister Holland" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Travis Greene Releases New Collection "Love Playlist"
Pianist Gerald Clayton Releases New Single "A Light" | LISTEN! | New Album Drops July 10th, 2020
Latin Jazz Artist John Santos to Release New Album "Art of the Descarga" on Aug. 7th, 2020
Singer Louise Golbey Releases New Single "Scarlet Woman" | LISTEN!
UK Funk Band The Haggis Horns Releases New Album "Stand Up For Love" | Listen to New Single "Haggis ...
R&B Group The Suffers Release New Single "Take Me To The Good Times" | LISTEN!
Mali Music Releases Live Performance of "Let Go" for Vevo Ctrl | WATCH!
Singer Darius Scott Releases New Single "Big Brave Man" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Billy Childs to Release New Album "Acceptance" on Aug. 28th, 2020
Keyboardist Al Degregoris Releases New Album "Time Sensitive" | LISTEN to New Single "Cookie Jar"!
Hillsong Worship and Tasha Cobbs Leonard Releases New Single "Awake My Soul" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO!
Sax Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Other Side Of The Pillow" - LISTEN! | New Album Drops J...
Greyboy Allstars Announce 1st New Record In 7 Years "Como De Allstars" - Coming July 3rd, 2020 | LIS...
Singer Tony Walk Releases New Single "Love Won't Let Me Wait" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Robert Copeland Releases New Album "That Jesus Feelin'" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Si...
R&B Singer Avant to Release Anticipated New Album "Can We Fall In Love" on July 10th, 2020 | LISTEN!
Marvin Sapp Releases New Single "Thank You For It All" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Pianist Michael Silverman to Release New Album "Human Spirit" with Jeff Lorber on July 15th, 2020 | ...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Kim Waters' Entire New Album “Shakedown” from Now til June 1...
Gospel Singer San Franklin Releases New Single "Set My Feet" on July 3rd, 2020 | LISTEN!
Jazz Keyboardist/Vocalist William Green to Release New Single "The Power In You" on July 7th, 2020 |...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *