Guitarist Eric Essix Releases Tribute CD “The Isley Sessions” | LISTEN!

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Eric Essix - The Isley Sessions

Contemporary Jazz Guitarist Eric Essix Releases Tribute Album to the Isley Brothers. “The Isley Sessions” is Available NOW.

The Isley Brothers were one of Eric Essix’s favorite bands as a teenager growing up in the seventies. The group enjoyed a lengthy string of hits throughout the decade, beginning with songs from the landmark “3+3” album, where brother’s Ernie, Marvin and cousin Chris Jasper joined the already established vocal trio.

“To say I am a fan of the Isley Brothers and their music is an understatement,” Eric says. “When Ernie Isley exploded onto the scene with his brothers, it was like nothing I had ever heard before. Ernie was so much like Jimi Hendrix – who I idolized – and was featured in a soul/r&b band while playing rock guitar licks. For me at that time, it was the best of all worlds and I instantly identified with the music and the sound! It was an important time that really shaped who I would later become as an artist.”

When Herbie Hancock released River: The Joni Letters (which won 2 Grammys in 2007), Eric was intrigued by the way Hancock interpreted Joni Mitchell’s mostly pop songs in a traditional jazz setting. “I still listen to that album regularly because it is such an amazing tribute to Joni’s music,” Eric says. “It made me want to do a similar project one day. Then I happened to be on the Soul Train Cruise in early 2014 playing with the great Peabo Bryson and got to see Ernie and Ronald Isley perform. In one portion of the show, Ronald was pouring out his soul on some of their classic ballads, and right then I knew this was the music I wanted to explore.”

Although the album begins with Todd Rundgren’s, Hello It’s Me, the Isley’s soulful version of that song in 1974, resonated with Eric and “I just felt like I had to include it in this collection,” he says. Kaleah Wooten, daughter of the album’s producer, Kelvin Wooten, lends a beautiful background vocal treatment to the songs refrain which mirrors the Isley Brothers original arrangement. Other standout moments from The Isley Sessions come courtesy of singer and jazz keyboardist, Frank McComb who puts his personal stamp on Footsteps In The Dark and Nashville’s newest rising star, Jason Eskridge, who contributes a staggering vocal arrangement and performance on Caravan Of Love. The rest of The Isley Sessions features Eric ‘s well defined, signature guitar sound on hit ballads like I Once Had Your Love, Voyage To Atlantis, Let Me Down Easy and Make Me Say It Again. With the skill of a 26 year veteran recording artist who has released 21 albums over his career, Essix respectfully interprets the Isley’s familiar melodies on the guitar and, at the same time, effortlessly makes each one of these musical gems his own with thoughtful arrangements and solid performances.

Eric Essix – Guitars (Arranger, Executive Producer)
Kelvin Wooten – Piano/Bass/Percussion (Producer)
Marcus Finnie – Drums

Source: CDBaby

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Bill Moss, Jr. & the B.M.E State Choir Releases New Single "Testimony of Praise" feat. J. Moss | LIS...
R&B Singer Tony Walk Releases Rendition of Classic "Turn Your Love Around" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! | New ...
Guitarist Blake Aaron to Release New Album "Color and Passion" on Sept. 18th, 2020 | LISTEN to New S...
Keyboardist David Garfield Releases New Single "Sir Charles" feat. Grant Geissman & Brandon Fields |...
Vibraphonist Warren Wolf to Release Holiday Album "Christmas Vibes" on Sept. 18th, 2020
R&B Singer Tony O Releases New Single "Chill In The Air" | LISTEN!
Singer Carl B. Phillips Covers 70's Song "Heaven Help Us All" feat. James Murray & Stephen Anderson ...
Singer Koryn Hawthorne Releases New Single "Speak To Me" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! New Album "I Am" Drops S...
U.K. Singer Jorja Smith Releases New Single "By Any Means" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
R&B Singer RL Bell Releases New Single "Delilah" | LISTEN!
Singer Rachel Eckroth Releases New Single "Perfect Love" ft. Sy Smith | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Bette Smith to Release New Album "The Good, The Bad & The Bette" on Sept. 25th, 2020
R&B Singer Mya is "Totally Down" for a R&B Verzuz Battle
Ricky Dillard Releases New EP "Choirmaster: The Chicago House Music Remixes" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Paul Hardcastle Releases New Album "Hardcastle 9" | LISTEN to New Single "Tropicool"!
Trumpet Great Eddie Henderson to Release New Album "Shuffle and Deal" on July 31st, 2020 | LISTEN to...
Fred Hammond's New Single Reaches #1 on Billboard Gospel Airplay Chart | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gregory Porter to Perform for Launch of NASA's Mars 2020 Mission on July 30th, 2020 | Releases New M...
The Chicago Mass Choir to Release New Album "My Soul Says Yes" on July 31st, 2020 | LISTEN!
Vocalist Danielle Ponder & Karate Boogaloo Release New Single "Look Around' | LISTEN!
Singer Koryn Hawthorne Releases New Single "Pray" | WATCH OFFICIAL NEW VIDEO!
Saxophonist Tony Exum Jr. Releases New Single "Don't Run From Love" feat. Vandell Andrew | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Immanuel Wilkins Releases New Single "Grace And Mercy" - LISTEN! New Album "Omega" Drops...
Gospel Singer Durmond Glanton Releases New Single "Rejoice" | LISTEN!
R&B-Pop Songstress Abrina Releases New Music Video for "Escape" | WATCH!
Lecrae to Release Anticipated New Album "Restoration" on Aug. 21st, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO for "Drow...
Flutist Jef Kearns to Release New EP "Jazzy AF" on Aug. 28th, 2020 | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Nomadic...
Gospel Choir Kenny Lewis & One Voice Releases New Single "Undefeated" | WATCH VIDEO!
R&B Singer Usher Releases Powerful Song "I Cry" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Reggae Artist Protoje Releases New Single "Same So" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Black Pumas Releases New EP "The Electric Deluxe Sessions (Amazon Original)" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz/Funk Trumpeter Takuya Kuroda To Release New Album "Fly Moon Die Soon" on Sept 18th, 2020 | WATC...
Guitarist Norman Brown to Release New Album "Heart to Heart" on Aug. 7th, 2020 | LISTEN to Title Tra...
Pop-Soul Singer Arika Kane Releases New Single "Colors Of The Wind" | LISTEN!
Andrew Ford Releases New Single "We Can Fly" feat. Amin El - WATCH VIDEO! | New Album "Muzik 4 The S...
New Radio Show "What's The Word with Tye Tribbett" Debut in September 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *