Blues Phenom Grady Champion to Drop New Disc “Bootleg Whiskey” on Sept. 2nd, 2014

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Grady Champion - Bootleg Whiskey


Blues phenomenon Grady Champion has been signed to the legendary Malaco Records label, marking a union of two significant indigenous forces in Mississippi-based blues. Champion’s forthcoming album, Bootleg Whiskey, is set for Sept 2 release by Malaco and includes the current breaking single “South Side.”

Grady Champion, who describes himself as a “torch carrier” for authentic Mississippi blues, was inspired by Sonny Boy Williamson and has been a blues force to reckoned with since he emerged from rural Canton, MS in the late ‘90s. His performing career has taken him to venues throughout North America, including the Chicago Blues Festival and on the high seas as a participant on the Legendary Rhythm and Blues Cruise. He is a past winner (2010) of the Blues Foundation’s International Blues Challenge and has been a multiple Blues Music Award nominee. The youngest of his father’s 28 children, Champion recalls, most fondly, the role Malaco played during his formative years, “There were lots of Malaco albums in my mother’s collection,” he recalled, noting, “She loved Z.Z. Hill’s ‘Down Home Blues’ on Malaco and so did I.” That song, coincidentally, was written by the late George Jackson as was the title song from Bootleg Whiskey. Champion has confidence that his alliance with Malaco will reap significant benefits, commenting, “I play for black folks and white folks and being on Malaco is a progression to solidify our relationship with the audience on record. I’ve been trying to get on Malaco for years and it’s great to have finally made it ‘home.’”

Bootleg Whiskey was recorded at Malaco’s Jackson, MS studios and produced by label chief Tommy Couch, Jr who personally signed Champion to the label which traces its origin back more than 40 years. With a storied catalog that includes the aforementioned Z.Z. Hill as well as Bobby “Blue” Bland, Johnnie Taylor, Dorothy Moore, Denise LaSalle, Latimore, Little Milton, Tyrone Davis, Bobby Rush and other blues and R&B greats, the addition of Grady Champion to the roster seems a perfect fit. The label, in fact, prides itself on being known as “The Last Soul Company.”

Couch recently told Living Blues whose August issue features a Grady Champion cover story, “He’s an incredible entertainer. I think he will be the next big ‘blues guy’ — I really do.” Bootleg Whiskey is a brilliant showcase of Champion’s talent both as a vocalist and harmonica player and includes fives songs which he had a hand in writing, underscoring his proficiency at story telling.

Bootleg Whiskey track listing
1. Beg, Borrow, Steal (Larry Grisham)
2. Bootleg Whiskey (George Jackson)
3. Don’t Waste My Time (Ernie Johnson)
4. Home Alone (Grady Champion, Larry Grisham)
5. Ten Dollars (Grady Champion)
6. South Side (Darrell Luster)
7. Who Dat (Grady Champion, Larry Grisham)
8. Here We Go Ya’ll (Grady Champion, Larry Grisham)
9. I Tripped And Fell (Darrell Luster)
10. Mr. Right (Darrell Luster, Grady Champion)
11. White Boy With The Blues (Jerry Strickland)

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Legendary Music Label Philadelphia International Records Celebrates 50th Anniversary In 2021
Contemporary Jazz Artist Hugh Manwell to Release New EP "HUGH" on Jan. 26th, 2021 | LISTEN to New Si...
Contemporary Jazz Keyboardist Patrick Bradley Releases New Album "Exhale" | LISTEN to Title Track!
NEW VOICES! Viral R&B Sensation Willie Spence Releases New Music Video "So Gone" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! R&B/Soul Singer Akeylah Simone Releases New Single "Uncertainty" | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Richard D'Abreu, Jr. Releases New Single "Happy Birthday (from Me)" | LISTEN!
Saxophonist Isaac Norris Releases New Single "Dancing on Air" feat. Nathan Mitchell | LISTEN!
R&B Singer Stokley Releases New Music Video for Single "Cascade" feat The Bonfyre | WATCH!
Dream Team Collective R+R=NOW Releases New Single "How Much A Dollar Cost" | LISTEN! New LIVE Album ...
NEW VOICES! Singer Rayvon Owen Releases New Video for "Do It Again" | WATCH!
Singer Jon Batiste Releases New Single "I Need You" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! New Album "WE ARE" Arrives Ma...
Motown & UMe Celebrate Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On" With 3 Digital Releases on Jan. 22nd, 2021
Saxophonist Judah Sealy Releases New Album "Legacy" | LISTEN to New Single "Showtime"!
WORLD PREMIERE: Singer Bradd Marquis Releases New Music Video for "Always" | WATCH!
Inspirational Singer Roderick Neal Releases New Single "Step 2 Calvary" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Sharlene-Monique to Release New Single "Human" on Feb. 5th, 2021
Kierra Sheard Releases New Single “Something Has to Break” feat. Karen Clark Sheard | LISTEN!
Jazz Legend Joe Chambers to Release New Album "Samba De Maracatu" on Feb. 26th, 2021 | LISTEN to Tit...
TV One Special "Unsung Presents: Music & The Movement" | Airing Jan. 18th, 2021
Canadian Vocalist Kaisha Lee Releases New Single "Got Somebody" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Soul/Afro-Pop Singer TolumiDE to Release New Single "Throwback" on Jan. 15th, 2021 | LISTEN!
Singer Ernest Gonder Releases New Single "For His Glory" | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Singer Jazzy Lei Releases New EP "Satya" | WATCH New Video for Single "Nineveh"!
Singer Geneatha Wright Releases New Project "In The Room" | LISTEN to Title Track!
Singer Will Downing to Release New Album "The Song Garden" on Jan. 29th, 2021 | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Saxophonist Richard Elliot Releases New Single "Snapshot" | LISTEN! New Album "Authentic Life" Arriv...
NEW VOICES! Nigerian Singer Monica Ogah Releases New EP "Different" | LISTEN to New Single "Tremble"...
Singer Patrick Dopson to Release New Single "Make It Alright" feat. John P. Kee on Feb. 5th, 2021
Nigerian Afrobeats Singer Waconzy Releases New Single "Marry You" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Vocalist Amber Weekes to Release New CD "My Romance - A Special Valentine" on Feb. 14th, 2021 |...
Hil St. Soul to Release New Single "Heaven Must Be Like This" on Jan. 22nd, 2021 | LISTEN!
Funk Group Dumpstaphunk to Release New Album "Where Do We Go From Here" on April 23rd, 2021 | LISTEN...
Gospel Singer Jason Hendrickson to Release New Single "Great Things" | LISTEN!
MAZE Featuring Frankie Beverly's "Live in New Orleans" 40th Anniversary 2LP Reissue & 2 Special Digi...
Le Coq Records Releases New Compilation Album "The Jazz All Stars Vol. 1" | LISTEN!
Singer Lawrence Banks Releases New Single "Brand New" | LISTEN! New Debut Album "LB" Coming Soon!
Singer AbiYah Yisrael Releases New Single "Love In My Heart" | LISTEN!
Gospel Quartet Divine Nature Releases New Album "REAL TALK" | LISTEN to New Single!
The RoneyBoys Releases New Single "We Can Do Better" feat. Jessica Jarrell | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Gospel Group Lee Walker & Spirit Releases New Single "The Battle" | LISTEN!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *