The 2014 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Are Announced

The Jazz Journalists Association Announces Winners for 2014 JJA Jazz Awards

NEW YORK – The Jazz Journalists Association today announced winners of 2014 JJA Jazz Awards in 32 categories of musical achievement. Herbie Hancock — the man behind International Jazz Day (April 30) as UNESCO Ambassador for Intercultural Dialog and Chairman of the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz – is being honored for his Lifetime Achievement in Jazz. Saxophonist Wayne Shorter, Hancock’s frequent collaborator, has been voted Musician of the Year.
In the 18th annual Jazz Awards presented by the JJA, an international non-profit organization of writers, photographers, broadcasters, videographers and new media professionals, Without A Net, by Shorter’s quartet (winner of Midsize Ensemble of the Year) was voted Record of the Year. Vocalist Cecile McLorin Salvant, debuting in 2013 with her album WomanChild, was named Up and Coming Artist of the Year as well as Female Singer of the Year. Gregory Porter was voted Male Singer of the Year, Maria Schneider Composer and Arranger of the Year, and her Orchestra best Large Ensemble.
Winners of Jazz Awards will be presented with engraved statuettes at their performances throughout the U.S. Winners are chosen through a two-month, two-ballot voting process. Recipients of JJA Jazz Awards for excellence in journalism and media will be announced at a party at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City on June 11, which will feature musical performances by Elio Villafranca’s Jass Syncopators, Sheila Jordan with Cameron Brown, and Stephanie Richards’ Trumpet Ensemble. Tickets for that event are now on sale: the general public is invited.
Among the many highlights in the lengthy careers of Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter were their joint tenures in Miles Davis’ 1960s quintet. Davis’ influence on current jazz remains powerful, according to JJA members who voted for Miles Live in Europe 1969 as Historical Record of the Year, and also honor Davis-associated Jack DeJohnette as Traps Drummer of the Year.
New jazz stars are also acclaimed by the JJA: besides Cecile McLorin Salvant, pianist Craig Taborn, percussionist Pedrito Martinez and electronics player Jason Lindner have won Awards for the first time. However, veteran musicians who have won Jazz Awards previously dominate, with saxophonist Joe Lovano, trumpeter Terence Blanchard, trombonist Roswell Rudd, bassist Christian McBride, mallet instrumentalist Gary Burton, alto saxophonist Lee Konitz, organist Dr. Lonnie Smith all receiving honors for their musical achievements in 2013.
The JJA Jazz Awards again cites the advancement of women in jazz, with Awards going to violinist Regina Carter, soprano saxophonist Jane Ira Bloom, flutist Nicole Mitchell, and clarinetist Anat Cohen – all previous winners.
The complete list of winners of 2014 JJA Jazz Awards for musical achievement, the list of all 2014 nominees and biographies of 24 Jazz Heroes are viewable at

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

Saxophonist Mike Phillips Releases Star-Studded New Music Video for "Flava In Ya Ear" (Remix) | WAT...
R&B Stylist Sinéad Harnett Releases New Music Video for "Quarantine Queen" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! Singer Jason Leon Releases New Single "Rope" | LISTEN!
Funk Legend Maceo Parker Releases New Single "Hard Times" | New Album Drops June 26th | LISTEN!
Miles Davis Estate & The JFA Present "A Miles Davis Birthday Celebration" on SiriusXM's 'Real Jazz' ...
Singer Renee Dion Releases New 3-Track EP "Patience • Relax • Endure" | LISTEN!
Singer Russell Taylor Releases New Official Music Video for "Come Morning" | WATCH!
Vintage Trouble Releases Stirring New Single “Outside-In” | WATCH OFFICIAL VIDEO!
Indie Soul Band Soulganic to Release New Single "Tabasco Jones" on June 19th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Singer Bluey Returns with New Album "Tinted Sky" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Back Her...
Tay Da Prince and John Legend Release Music Video for "Love One Another" in Support of COVID-19 Reli...
Gregory D and Company Releases New Single "My Time" on June 5th, 2020
Drummer Brian Andres Debuts New Trio Latino Project "Mayan Suite" | WATCH VIDEO for Single "Viento S...
Piano Legend Chick Corea to Release New Album "Plays" {2-CD/3-LP} on Aug. 28th, 2020 | LISTEN to "Mo...
Singer Donnie Releases New Single ”America (Do You Wanna Go Higher?)" | LISTEN!
Lila Iké Releases Debut EP "The Experience" | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Solitude"!
Producer Chris "Big Dog" Davis to Release New Album "Focus" on June 12th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Singer Sherri Brown Releases New Single "Invitation" | LISTEN!
Songstress Selina Albright to Release New Single "Discovering" on July 3rd, 2020
Saxophonist Euge Groove to Release New Album "Sing My Song" on June 26th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Singl...
Pastor Stephen Robinson Releases New Single "He Can Do It" | LISTEN!
Ramsey Lewis Returns with Monthly Online Series "Saturday Salon" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Jazz Pianist Al Daniels Releases New Album "Brasiliana" | LISTEN to New Single "Change The World" fe...
Singer Shirley King to Release New Album "Blues For A King" on June 19th, 2020
Keyboardist Jakob Magnusson Releases New EP "High North" | LISTEN to Single "Next To You!"
Reggae Singer Christopher Martin Releases New Single "Little Green Apples" | LISTEN!
Trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire to Release New Album "on the tender spot of every calloused moment" on ...
Jonathan Traylor Releases New Album "The Unknown" | WATCH LYRIC VIDEO for Single "You Get The Glory!...
Singer Gregory Porter Releases New Single "Phoenix" | WATCH NEW LYRIC VIDEO!
Vocalist/Trombonist David L. Harris Releases New Album "More Than Love … to be a man"
New Whitney Houston Biopic "I Wanna Dance with Somebody" Coming Soon
Funk Legend Maceo Parker to Release New Studio Album "Soul Food - Cooking With Maceo" on June 26th, ...
Singer Eric Roberson Releases New Music Video for "Already Knew You" | WATCH!
Singer Whitney McClain Releases New EP "Letters From A Broken Heart" | LISTEN!
The Jazz Journalists Association Announces 2020 Awards Nominees
NEW VOICES! Singer La'Tonya Meori Releases New Single "Superman" | LISTEN!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *