Robert Glasper’s “Black Radio” Debuts at #15 on Billboard’s Top 200




Robert Glasper has earned the first-ever Billboard Top 200 chart debut of his career with the impressive first-week showing of his widely acclaimed new album Black Radio, his fourth album for EMI’s Blue Note Records which was released on February 28. The album lands at #15 this week on the Top 200 chart—and #10 on the Top Current Albums chart—with sales of 20,854 units. Black Radio reached #3 on the overall iTunes Music Store in the U.S., and remains #1 on the iTunes Jazz charts in 9 countries including the U.S., U.K., France, Australia, and Japan.

The release week buzz on Black Radio was fueled by a stand-out performance of “Always Shine” with Lupe Fiasco and Bilal on CBS Late Show With David Letterman, a Sunday Arts & Leisure feature in The New York Times, and an interview segment on NPR All Things Considered, as well as numerous rave reviews. Robert Glasper Experiment also played two sold-out shows at the Highline Ballroom in New York City featuring many of the album’s special guests.

“Robert is an amazing artist and he’s recorded a masterpiece,” said Don Was, President of Blue Note Records. “This week’s results affirm our Blue Note philosophy: enable the creation of uncompromisingly great music, entrust it to a fine-tuned marketing/sales team and the listeners will respond accordingly. I’m very optimistic about the future of our business.”

Glasper is set to perform “Gonna Be Alright (F.T.B.)” with singer Ledisi on NBC Tonight Show With Jay Leno on March 19. Glasper will also make his SXSW debut with an official showcase at The Elephant Room at 10:30pm on March 15. See below for a full list of upcoming tour dates.

BET’s music and entertainment channel Centric has named Glasper to its prestigious Centric Selects program, which recognizes top emerging artists in the R&B genre. For more information, please visit

MORE News on T.U.M.S.!

R&B Singer Tanya Nolan Releases New Self-Titled Album | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Synergy!"
NEW VOICES! Songstress Renay Releases New Album "Pure Love" | WATCH NEW VIDEO for Single "Wanna Shar...
"Oscar, With Love" Tribute Deluxe Limited Edition 5-LP Set Arrives Feb. 21st, 2020
Vocalist Mahalia Fontaine Releases New Single "Empires" on Feb. 21st, 2020 | LISTEN!
Pastor Mike, Jr. Reaches #1 on Billboard Gospel Airplay Chart with Single "Big" | LISTEN!
Deborah Cox Releases Official Music Video for Single "Easy Way" | Co-Stars in New Film Influence Pre...
EXCLUSIVE STREAM! LISTEN to Saxophonist Vincent Ingala’s Entire New Album “Echoes Of The Heart” from...
Trumpeter Marquis Hill Releases New Album "Love Tape: With Voices" on Feb. 14th, 2020 | LISTEN to Si...
Saxophonist Jimmy Greene to Release New Album "While Looking Up" on April 3rd, 2020
Charlie Wilson Releases Official Music Video for Single "Forever Valentine" | WATCH!
Gregory Porter Releases New Single "If Love Is Overrated" | WATCH NEW VIDEO!
Singer Rexy* Releases New Music Video for Single "All Our Lives" | WATCH!
Vocalist Cynthia Scott Releases New Single "Sweet Valentine" | LISTEN!
Vocalist Gloria Reuben & Guitarist Marty Ashby Releases New Album "For All We Know" on Feb. 14th, 20...
Little Steven Announces Remastered Vinyl Edition Of Landmark Protest Album, 'Sun City' | Coming Marc...
Boney James to Release New Album "Solid" on April 17th, 2020 | Announces New Tour Dates
Singer Antoine Dunn to Release New Album "Everything" on Feb. 14th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "I'm...
Singer Isaac Carree Releases New Single "Legend" | WATCH NEW VIDEO! Album "No Risk, No Reward" Drops...
Nina Simone's Album "Fodder On My Wings" Reissued on LP & CD/Digital | Coming April 3rd, 2020 | WATC...
Pianist/Keyboardist Connie Han to Release New Album "Iron Starlet" on April 10th, 2020
Jody Watley to Release New EP "Winter Nights"
Pianist Bob Baldwin to Release 31st New Album "Henna" on Feb. 7th, 2020 | LISTEN to New Single "Long...
The Marley Family, UMe & Island Records Announce Yearlong 75th Birthday Commemorative Plans For Bob ...
Sy Smith Releases New Official Music Video for "Camelot" | WATCH!
NEW VOICES! Singer Maurice Smith Releases New Single "I Still Believe" | LISTEN!
Guitarist Chris Standring to Release New Album "Real Life" on March 20th, 2020 | WATCH VIDEO for "Is...
Rissi Palmer Releases New Official Music Video for "You Were Here (Sage's Song)" | WATCH!
Mali Music Releases New Single "Let Go" | LISTEN!
Kandace Springs to Release New Album "The Women Who Raised Me" on March 27th, 2020 | WATCH NEW VIDEO...
Saxophonist Wayne Escoffery to Release New Album "The Humble Warrior" on April 10th, 2020
Missy Elliott And H.E.R. Join Forces For Pepsi Zero Sugar Super Bowl LIV Commercial | WATCH VIDEO!
NEW VOICES! Singer Sunshyn Releases New Single "Promised Me" on Feb. 1st, 2020 | LISTEN!
Singer Luther Barnes Releases New Single "Look To The Hills" | LISTEN! New Album Drops Spring 2020
Guitarist Lawson Rollins Releases New Album "True North" | LISTEN!
Keyboardist Lisa Addeo's New Single "Listen To This" Reaches #1 on Billboard's Smooth Jazz Chart
Jazz in Pink feat. Gail Jhonson Releases New Single "Joy, Joy" feat. Kim Waters | New Album Coming S...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *